Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-07-2014, 11:05 AM
Bfearr Bfearr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 165
Default Hard Drives

I read in the resources of the DUC here that Pro Tools doesn't support the use of external USB hard drives....prefers fire drives. It's the first time I've seen or heard this. Where I read this was in an LE section. So, what's the deal? USB drives aren't cool? They are all I have used since 2006.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-07-2014, 11:09 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,836
Default Re: Hard Drives

I think that is a bit old. We use both USB3 external SSD drives aswell as Thunderbolt drives and they work really great.

If you are gonna use a USB external drive make sure it's a USB3 as USB2 is way to slow for larger sessions.

Christopher
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-07-2014, 11:32 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,136
Default Re: Hard Drives

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bfearr View Post
I read in the resources of the DUC here that Pro Tools doesn't support the use of external USB hard drives....prefers fire drives. It's the first time I've seen or heard this. Where I read this was in an LE section. So, what's the deal? USB drives aren't cool? They are all I have used since 2006.
As Christopher has said, the Firewire recommendation is years old. USB has been the recommended external solution since then, and now Thunderbolt as well. I have found it even better to use a second internal 7200 RPM drive whenever possible.

And keep it all backed up.

If you don't have it in at least 3 places... You don't have it.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-07-2014, 12:19 PM
Bfearr Bfearr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 165
Default Re: Hard Drives

Thanks for taking the time to respond. Does the computer recognize USB 3 even if the computer is USB 2?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-07-2014, 12:26 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,836
Default Re: Hard Drives

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bfearr View Post
Thanks for taking the time to respond. Does the computer recognize USB 3 even if the computer is USB 2?
Well if you don't have USB3 ports it's useless to get USB3 external drives as it won't be either faster nor better than getting a USB2 which are too slow.

If i were you I would get a newer computer with USB3 ports and thunderbolt ports as USB2 is too slow for larger PT 11
sessions and demanding sample libraries.

There is no,way of comparing PT LE and PT11 sessions that worked great 8 yrs ago, times are changing and if you want a stable working studio a new computer is the first priority if that was me.

Getting USB3 drives at this point would be a waste of money for you

Christopher
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-07-2014, 12:36 PM
Bfearr Bfearr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 165
Default Re: Hard Drives

I was curious. I have USB ports and also an SSD drive. A guy at Sweetwater told me to not track to an SSD drive so I have been storing finished tracks on it instead. I'll start tracking to it!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-07-2014, 01:02 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,836
Default Re: Hard Drives

Absolutely

What people are you getting advice from ?!

The ssd Drives are the best on the market and you should track to it 100%
Also use as OS drive
And sample drive

Yes for everything! They are fast, reliable and really awesome all around

Best Regards
Christopher
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-07-2014, 01:34 PM
Bfearr Bfearr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 165
Default Re: Hard Drives

The SSD advice was from my sales guy at Sweetwater. I never got USB advice. I started in Pro Tools when USB 2 or firewire were the choices and I never changed from USB 2. I just happened to be looking at the resources here on DUC when I saw the firewire mention for LE.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-07-2014, 06:23 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Hard Drives

USB 1 & 2 are controled by the CPU and are first one the chopping block if the CPU needs more power for something else
Firewire has it's own controller chip set
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-07-2014, 06:34 PM
Bfearr Bfearr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 165
Default Re: Hard Drives

Ahhh. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Portable hard drives vs. desktop hard drives NHH 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-02-2009 07:29 AM
SSD (Solid State Drives) Alleviating The Need For Two Hard Drives For PT? epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 30 04-13-2009 12:19 AM
Hard Drives and PT neomodo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 01-29-2005 08:01 PM
Where to buy Hard Drives? blairl Tips & Tricks 7 04-05-2001 02:00 PM
This is why you want two (or more) hard drives Doctor Jones 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 12-20-1999 11:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com