Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 04-20-2020, 11:54 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,717
Default Re: S1 knob always writing

Quote:
Originally Posted by filmixer View Post
I've contacted Avid support and have a case number but haven't heard anything back for days. I know things aren't normal with COVID-19 going on and all, but it's not good to have no response for so long. I have two S1s that have knobs that drop into Write and it's a show stopper. I'll try calling Monday, but this isn't good.
Yes unfortunately this lock down is causing delays, please PM me the case number if you don't here anything in the next few days.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-08-2020, 04:19 AM
peapodpost peapodpost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: NYC
Posts: 26
Default Re: S1 knob always writing

I have two brand new units that both do this on pots 1, 4, and 5.

It will pop up at random but the pots get triggered every time by going into or out of flip mode. Is the touch capacitance just too sensitive? This happened both before and after the firmware update to 20.1.4.0.

Edit: Very strange, I decided to AB this issue in PT 2019.12 and 2020.03. So far, it has not done it in 2020.03. Same machine, same version of EUCON. Is that possible?

Last edited by peapodpost; 05-08-2020 at 04:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05-08-2020, 08:20 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,717
Default Re: S1 knob always writing

Quote:
Originally Posted by peapodpost View Post
I have two brand new units that both do this on pots 1, 4, and 5.

It will pop up at random but the pots get triggered every time by going into or out of flip mode. Is the touch capacitance just too sensitive? This happened both before and after the firmware update to 20.1.4.0.

Edit: Very strange, I decided to AB this issue in PT 2019.12 and 2020.03. So far, it has not done it in 2020.03. Same machine, same version of EUCON. Is that possible?
We think it a hardware issue so would be very surprised if a different version of PT changed the behavior. Please test more and let me know. Thanks Eddie
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05-08-2020, 08:23 AM
peapodpost peapodpost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: NYC
Posts: 26
Default Re: S1 knob always writing

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
We think it a hardware issue so would be very surprised if a different version of PT changed the behavior. Please test more and let me know. Thanks Eddie

Thanks, Eddie. I just got it to fail it in 2020.03 as well. Less at first and now every time.

Would you recommend returning to dealer or Avid? I have 2 units close in serial that both do this on pots 1, 4, 5.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 05-08-2020, 08:26 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,717
Default Re: S1 knob always writing

Sadly I do think you do need to return them.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 05-08-2020, 08:36 AM
peapodpost peapodpost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: NYC
Posts: 26
Default Re: S1 knob always writing

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
Sadly I do think you do need to return them.

Would you happen to know if it affects a particular serial range, or just hope for the best? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 05-08-2020, 08:42 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,717
Default Re: S1 knob always writing

No it seems random.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 05-08-2020, 08:47 AM
peapodpost peapodpost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: NYC
Posts: 26
Default Re: S1 knob always writing

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
No it seems random.

Undastood. thx!
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 05-09-2020, 03:02 PM
bdale bdale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 11
Default Re: S1 knob always writing

My S1 was replaced by AVID for this problem and the automation timeout issue and the replacement unit won't even show up in Eucontrol. A complete boat anchor. How horrible does a company have to be to continue to run advertisements and sell a product that is such a complete POS?
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 05-09-2020, 03:06 PM
basehead617 basehead617 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: California
Posts: 64
Default Re: S1 knob always writing

Glad i did not bite on this product, it seems like they have a lot of kinks to work out to say the least.. mostly on the hardware parts side
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking to trade my skinny knob 408 for a skinny knob 402 audiobee System 5 0 04-06-2016 11:02 AM
002R Volume knob=Control24 Volume knob?? Gothboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-07-2010 04:04 PM
writing to CD manyrains 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 04-30-2008 01:15 PM
Writing to cd? sethbrand Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 03-18-2006 12:34 PM
Problem writing to CDR Jonah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 03-24-2002 02:34 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:23 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com