Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-30-2018, 05:52 PM
DAWgEAR's Avatar
DAWgEAR DAWgEAR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: California, USA
Posts: 332
Default Faderport/HUI track selection/track follow from within Pro Tools

I just bought a single fader Presonus Faderport Version 2 (2018) and I have it up and running. It uses the HUI protocol, so I am hoping others who might not have this particular unit may still have some insights to offer.

My question has to do with how to select a track with the mouse or keyboard from within Pro Tools for focus for purposes of writing automation, etc. with the hardware. (The hardware has buttons for incrementing/decrementing the focused track, but I am interested in changing which track is focused using Pro Tools and not the controller.)

It appears that the HUI protocol grabs 8 tracks, and, if I select any one of those 8 tracks with the mouse within Pro Tools, the Faderport hardware's focus follows. But if I select a track outside of those 8, the hardware will not follow.

I have figured out that, if I right click on a track that is not one of these 8 and select Scroll Into View, 8 new tracks are grabbed (with the track I right clicked now being the first) and the hardware focus is on that track.

Is that it, or is there a more efficient way to go about this?
__________________
Pro Tools HD Native 2019.10 | HD Omni | iMac Pro: 10-Core 3.0 GHZ - 64 GB - 2 TB - Vega 56 | Sonnet Echo Express SE II for PT HD Native PCIe and UAD 2 Quad PCIe card | Pro Tools Dock
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-30-2018, 06:49 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,222
Default Re: Faderport/HUI track selection/track follow from within Pro Tools

AFAIK, you need to navigate with the left/right arrows or jog wheel on the faderport itself(the jog wheel is on the new faderport, not the original version))
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-31-2018, 03:09 AM
Wizzoboy's Avatar
Wizzoboy Wizzoboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 612
Default Re: Faderport/HUI track selection/track follow from within Pro Tools

It was never intended with the HUI protocol that you would use a mouse to select a track. You would bank and select tracks using the controller. So the only way is to use the "Scroll into View" selection.
__________________
Dell Precision 490 Workstation, dual 4 core 5355 Xeon, 16gb Samsung DDR2 ECC Ram - Windows 7 Ultimate - Nvidia GTX 650 - 3 x Internal WD Blacks - PT 2018.3 - Digi 002R - Original Mackie HUI - JBL Monitoring.
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 - 24gb RAM - Windows 10 - Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB with Studio driver 441.66- Internal WD Black, Samsung 860, and MSATA card - Davinci Resolve 16.2 - Canon HF G40
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-31-2018, 10:20 AM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,192
Default Re: Faderport/HUI track selection/track follow from within Pro Tools

Auto-Scroll into View in the suggestion box.
or
Controller folows selection.
--------
Although right click "Scroll into View" is nice it's awkward.
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

APFS 90% 10% Audio on Both
(HFS+)
Pro Tools U-2019.12 macOS 10.14.6 APFS
Second boot-macOS 10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire RX-580 MVC-Edition)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDIoverIP)
----
music-design-creation
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.

Audio Tuning and System Services
new systems builds/upkeep
----
New builds:
12 core nMP
16 core nMP rack
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-06-2018, 04:33 PM
StillHollow StillHollow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 64
Default Re: Faderport/HUI track selection/track follow from within Pro Tools

I have the new FaderPort and when I click and highlight a track (with PAN button on controller on) the controller does not focus in on it. What is the suggested method for focusing in on specific tracks and not groups?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-12-2019, 05:37 PM
Loudnoize Ent. Loudnoize Ent. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 483
Default Re: Faderport/HUI track selection/track follow from within Pro Tools

You would think something so logical would have been added to the Faderport. Controller follows Selection is a MUST HAVE for this unit.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-12-2019, 05:40 PM
jacko's Avatar
jacko jacko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wroclaw / Poland
Posts: 696
Default Re: Faderport/HUI track selection/track follow from within Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loudnoize Ent. View Post
You would think something so logical would have been added to the Faderport. Controller follows Selection is a MUST HAVE for this unit.
It's Pro Tools limitation.
There's nothing that can be done about it.
Avid needs to sell PT Dock.
__________________
UAD Apollo x16,
UAD Apollo Twin Duo,
UAD Octo Thunderbolt,
Mac Mini i7 2018,
Reaper DAW,
Presonus Faderport,
Arturia Beastep for DAW control,
Former Pro Tools HD user (from V7 until V12.6).
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-13-2019, 11:13 PM
indeloon85 indeloon85 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 106
Default Re: Faderport/HUI track selection/track follow from within Pro Tools

Try holding Shift+Control while clicking on the first track of the 8 you want to select.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-14-2019, 01:19 AM
Loudnoize Ent. Loudnoize Ent. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 483
Default Re: Faderport/HUI track selection/track follow from within Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by indeloon85 View Post
Try holding Shift+Control while clicking on the first track of the 8 you want to select.
Thanks for the tip, indeloon85. Really appreciate it and it certainly beats having to use the Previous - Next buttons or the knob on the Faderport.

Cheers!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Editing in Protools 10HD - Track Selection Linked to Track Output Window? day_tripper Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 0 09-17-2014 10:33 PM
Anyway to copy plug in automation of a selection from track to track? emilano Pro Tools 10 5 04-09-2012 09:28 AM
C8 Track selection Follow daslicht ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 4 01-11-2011 06:11 AM
automation mode buttons/C8 channels follow track-selection automatically clusterer ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 2 11-24-2009 03:16 PM
track show and hide with link track and edit selection ???? x9blade Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 4 10-11-2008 10:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com