Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post    Community Terms of Use    Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search    Community Search    Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-04-2020, 11:53 PM
mightyduck's Avatar
mightyduck mightyduck is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: los angeles united states
Posts: 394
Default I think I can use my old blue 192 I/Os

Hi,
I have an HD native thunderbolt and I think I can use my old blue 192 I/Os with it. Right?

Best,

mightyduck
__________________
MD
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-05-2020, 01:14 AM
lae777 lae777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 155
Default Re: I think I can use my old blue 192 I/Os

I'm using mine with a pcie Native card.
I think the thunderbolt box works the same, so you should have no problems.
__________________
5,1 Mac Pro, 3.46 GHz Six Core Xeon, 48gb ram, Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.12, HD Native card, Avid 96io interface, Avid 192io, Intensity Pro video card, Radeon HD 7970 graphics card, Mac OS X 10.13.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-05-2020, 03:35 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 18,459
Default Re: I think I can use my old blue 192 I/Os

Yes, the blue DigiDesign-branded interfaces work just fine, but are not supported. It only means if Avid wants to update firmware, the updates only come for the Avid-branded boxes.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-05-2020, 01:46 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,222
Default Re: I think I can use my old blue 192 I/Os

Should work fine as long as you have the right software(HD or Ulimate) and a digilink license (after 12.6HD)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-06-2020, 02:46 AM
mightyduck's Avatar
mightyduck mightyduck is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: los angeles united states
Posts: 394
Default Re: I think I can use my old blue 192 I/Os

Thanks, guys!


Best,

mightduck
__________________
MD
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-09-2020, 07:57 AM
corp corp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 630
Default Re: I think I can use my old blue 192 I/Os

Any latency difference?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-18-2020, 05:23 AM
mightyduck's Avatar
mightyduck mightyduck is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: los angeles united states
Posts: 394
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by corp View Post
Any latency difference?
Not sure exactly what you are talking about, but it seems to me I read that the TDM HD systems had a little bit less roiundtrip latency than the current systems.

Some one should probably chime in with more complete info on this.


Best,

mightyduck
__________________
MD
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-18-2020, 10:10 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 18,459
Default Re: I think I can use my old blue 192 I/Os

Yes the old TDM hardware was very slightly faster than the current HDX hardware.

But who cares?

If the realworld latency is less than 10ms there is absolutely no reason why any artist can or cannot perform. Give her a carrot and try again.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-20-2020, 02:40 PM
corp corp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 630
Default

"But who cares?"

Many who don't post on the Avid site.......:roll eyes:


Maybe Avid should rid the HDX card if latency is not an issue and why didn't Avid design around 20ms minimum.......:roll eyes:

My question is more in the direction if third party interfaces have more latency compared to a Avid product.

https://www.audiocheck.net/blindtest...2w.php?time=10

http://www.silcom.com/~aludwig/EARS.htm

Last edited by corp; 02-20-2020 at 03:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-23-2020, 02:13 AM
mightyduck's Avatar
mightyduck mightyduck is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: los angeles united states
Posts: 394
Default Re: I think I can use my old blue 192 I/Os

Quote:
Originally Posted by corp View Post
"But who cares?"

Many who don't post on the Avid site.......:roll eyes:


Maybe Avid should rid the HDX card if latency is not an issue and why didn't Avid design around 20ms minimum.......:roll eyes:

My question is more in the direction if third party interfaces have more latency compared to a Avid product.

https://www.audiocheck.net/blindtest...2w.php?time=10

http://www.silcom.com/~aludwig/EARS.htm

The issue you are probably going to run into if using anything other than Digidesign or avid hardware is that the pro tools software's ability to compensate for input and output latency [i.e. for punching in, overdubbing, and so forth] only works with the Digi / avid stuff [and I think Lynx has the same spec, too, so they supposedly also work].

So its not so much what converter has a little more or less latency, its about whether or not the converter's latency is the same as what the software will recognize / set to compensate for.


mightyduck
__________________
MD
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blue Cat's PatchWork Updated to v1.62, with brand new Light Blue UI Theme bluecataudio AAX Plug-ins 5 01-10-2015 12:41 AM
How do you know if you have a Green, Blue or non Green or Blue Drive mccoyrare@yahoo.com Pro Tools 10 14 12-25-2013 12:13 AM
Sync-blue and midi-blue with protools 11? John Becool Pro Tools 11 4 09-11-2013 10:28 AM
Blue 192? woof Pro Tools 11 1 06-26-2013 08:03 AM
Blue 192 IO's Soundtrack2life Pro Tools 10 15 10-22-2011 09:28 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com