Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-20-2019, 12:55 PM
arb232 arb232 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NYC
Posts: 77
Default Latency with old V9 Waves Plugins

Hello all,

I'm on a Mac Pro (specs below) and when using my old Waves Plugins, maybe about 20 or so in a session, it slows the performance down a lot. Like toggling via key command between Waveform/Vol/Pans/Sends.

At home, I'm on 2019.10 and I tried the same session on a computer running Pro Tools 10 with no issues at all.

I'm being told that it could be the older Waves V9 version. It is a $240 investment to go from V9 to V11 so I wanted to ask if anyone has experience with this before I do it.

Thanks!

Model Name: Mac Pro
Model Identifier: MacPro5,1
Processor Name: 6-Core Intel Xeon
Processor Speed: 3.46 GHz
Number of Processors: 2
Total Number of Cores: 12
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache (per Processor): 12 MB
Hyper-Threading Technology: Enabled
Memory: 64 GB
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770:
Universal Audio Apollo Firewire
macOS Mojave 10.14.6
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-20-2019, 02:49 PM
Stephen Bond's Avatar
Stephen Bond Stephen Bond is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,147
Default Re: Latency with old V9 Waves Plugins

Probably worth checking the release notes

https://www.waves.com/downloads/release-notes

Running V9, V10 and V11 here. I don't think I encounter the slow down you describe, just the general Pro Tools lag when things are loaded up in the plugin department.

Stephen
__________________
Save an additional 10% off any purchase at Waves!

https://www.waves.com/r/9zsnwd
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-10-2020, 05:40 AM
simon.a.billington simon.a.billington is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 783
Default Re: Latency with old V9 Waves Plugins

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Bond View Post
Probably worth checking the release notes

https://www.waves.com/downloads/release-notes

Running V9, V10 and V11 here. I don't think I encounter the slow down you describe, just the general Pro Tools lag when things are loaded up in the plugin department.

Stephen
I do periodically check out the Release Notes myself. There has definitely been performance improvements, bug fixes and memory management since V9. So it could be well worth the investment. Plus Central will be able to keep you up to date for the next couple of years.

As opposed to paying for WUP, though, you could always invest in a bigger bundle when you find a good sale. That way you also get a. It more for your money as well. Although it only really works if you can find an affordable bundle that has all your current plugins in it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-10-2020, 07:44 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,219
Default Re: Latency with old V9 Waves Plugins

As for the slowdown, I just read a blurb from protoolsexpert where one of the guy's Mac Pro tower was running super slow(enough that he was considering spending $9K on a new Mac Pro). After a few other things that didn't help, he opened the tower and found it full of dust. After a thorough cleaning and reseating cards, he reported that it was running like new again
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-10-2020, 09:37 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,078
Default Re: Latency with old V9 Waves Plugins

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
As for the slowdown, I just read a blurb from protoolsexpert where one of the guy's Mac Pro tower was running super slow(enough that he was considering spending $9K on a new Mac Pro). After a few other things that didn't help, he opened the tower and found it full of dust. After a thorough cleaning and reseating cards, he reported that it was running like new again
That's nothing new as the thermal flow design is the problem. There's no filter on the front of cheesegraters to keep dust out. I clean out the dust bunnies in mine at least once a year. Also older Mac Mini's can collect dust in that little blower inside.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-10-2020, 09:45 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,584
Default Re: Latency with old V9 Waves Plugins

Still on Waves 9.6 here and we have like 100+ plugins Waves plugins and never seen a slowdown. PT Ultimate 2019.12 and 2019.10 Ultimate on High Sierra and Mojave but never heard older non wup would slow anything. I can believe the new V11 might speed up things but 9.6 definitely doesn’t slow down your setup.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-14-2020, 04:42 AM
simon.a.billington simon.a.billington is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 783
Default Re: Latency with old V9 Waves Plugins

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Still on Waves 9.6 here and we have like 100+ plugins Waves plugins and never seen a slowdown. PT Ultimate 2019.12 and 2019.10 Ultimate on High Sierra and Mojave but never heard older non wup would slow anything. I can believe the new V11 might speed up things but 9.6 definitely doesn’t slow down your setup.
Yeah that has been my experience. Although, I keep on top of my updates and I, never the first to jump to a new OS. I’m Catalina now and it’s all working relatively smoothly. I saw the writing on the wall long ago with 32-bit and almost immediately stopped using it.

Sometimes a fresh install could also help with performance as does clearing out old preferences and cache. They’ve also been known to cause speed issues, so it’s also worth considering. Be careful if reinstalling though, make sure you only install the versions you have a valid license for.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools missing V9 plugins from Waves after updating Waves Central williamg AAX Plug-ins 4 12-14-2019 05:54 AM
FS: Waves Kramer Master Tape and other Waves plugins MatthieuH Buy & Sell 0 05-16-2016 08:57 AM
FS - Waves plugins, AVID plugins Rosco1969 Buy & Sell 12 03-11-2014 11:56 AM
Automation latency when using plugins that have long latency pyrodave Pro Tools 11 2 01-27-2014 11:22 AM
FS : Plugins alliance, avid, flux, waves plugins, blastwave sound library Roll Buy & Sell 5 03-11-2013 06:20 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com