Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-08-2019, 11:56 PM
jscomposer jscomposer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Boogie Woogie
Posts: 425
Default "Tab to transients" question

With it off, both tab and L (or ') move the cursor to clip ends. With it on, both tab and L/' move the cursor to the next/previous transient.

Why does L/' follow tab to transient? Wouldn't it be more efficient and make more sense to have tab to transients and L/' to clip ends? (Or even vice versa.)

Is there some other shortcut I'm missing? I want to be able to move to clip ends and transients on the fly without toggling "tab to transients."
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-09-2019, 07:48 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,700
Default Re: "Tab to transients" question

Pretty sure there's no shortcut to toggle Tab to Transient, but of course simple to do with Keyboard Maestro.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-09-2019, 08:04 AM
JingleDjango JingleDjango is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Toronto
Posts: 44
Default Re: "Tab to transients" question

The shortcut is cmd+opt+tab but I don't think that's what jscomposer is really asking.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-09-2019, 11:18 AM
Stephen Bond's Avatar
Stephen Bond Stephen Bond is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,143
Default Re: "Tab to transients" question

Quote:
Originally Posted by jscomposer View Post
With it off, both tab and L (or ') move the cursor to clip ends. With it on, both tab and L/' move the cursor to the next/previous transient.

Why does L/' follow tab to transient? Wouldn't it be more efficient and make more sense to have tab to transients and L/' to clip ends? (Or even vice versa.)

Is there some other shortcut I'm missing? I want to be able to move to clip ends and transients on the fly without toggling "tab to transients."
Have a good look around in here

http://www.protoolskeyboardshortcuts...ard-shortcuts/

Stephen
__________________
Save an additional 10% off any purchase at Waves!

https://www.waves.com/r/9zsnwd
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-09-2019, 12:56 PM
jscomposer jscomposer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Boogie Woogie
Posts: 425
Default Re: "Tab to transients" question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Bond View Post
Have a good look around in here

http://www.protoolskeyboardshortcuts...ard-shortcuts/

Stephen
I don't think that's a reliable source. They got ^tab for both "locate cursor to previous clip boundary" and "go to and select next clip."

I was using the PT Shortcuts guide that comes with PT. I don't see what I'm looking for in either.

I sincerely hope I'm missing something, because it makes no sense to have L and ' obey the "tab to transients" button. Even the PT Shortcuts guide says L and ' move the insertion to previous/next edit, no mention of whether "tab to transients" is on or off. So maybe this is bug/mistake?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-09-2019, 12:59 PM
JingleDjango JingleDjango is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Toronto
Posts: 44
Default Re: "Tab to transients" question

jscomposer I understand that you want L and the tab key to obey different rules. I don't believe that's currently possible but I too think it would be useful.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-09-2019, 06:14 PM
jscomposer jscomposer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Boogie Woogie
Posts: 425
Default Re: "Tab to transients" question

Essentially, there's a redundancy and inefficiency here. There's really no need for a latching "tab to transients" (TTT) switch at all. Possible solutions for Avid to consider:

1) Arrow up/down keys move insertion to next/previous clip boundaries. This sort of happens already in a limited sense: given a selection, up moves insertion to selection end, down moves it to selection start. They could just extend that. This would keep the muscle memory folks happy, unless I'm missing some other function or complication with having up/down keys do this. (Personally, I'd rather have right/left arrow keys do this, and have up/down arrow keys "center on selection start/end," but whatever.)

2) Tab and L/' are always opposite. So with TTT on, L/' goes to clip boundaries. With it off, L/' goes to transients. For the muscle memory folks, this would be a disturbance, but at least give you the option of setting it to the mode you use most. Once set to your preference, you never have to toggle TTT again. However, options are more a Reaper thing than Avid, which leaves us with...

3) Do away with the TTT switch altogether. Make tab always to transients, L/' always to clip boundaries, or vice versa. I'd say L/' always to transients, since shortcuts like ^tab and ^shift-tab work on whole clips and boundaries even with TTT on. Though I could see how the muscle memory folks would disagree.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Digidesign Midi I/О" in "ProTools 10HD" in "OSX Maverics" electra1006 MIDI 0 06-18-2018 05:46 AM
How To "Even Out" Wave Transients firsty33 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 02-07-2012 06:57 PM
hardware buttons for "preview", "capture" and "punch" evs Post - Surround - Video 1 12-06-2010 12:28 PM
Elastic Audio putting "bump" in EGtr transients holden Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 08-13-2008 02:19 PM
A "Yes" guitar tone question, from "Fragile" Sabe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 15 01-06-2003 07:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com