Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-25-2011, 05:52 AM
acer acer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 18
Default 4 core with sandy bridge vs 6 core without?

Hi all.

2 questions here for my new system. I have to choose CPU and i can get I7 2600 k(sandy bridge) 4 cores or I7 950 with 6 cores. what is best?
I read an article about Final cut pro didnt support 6 cores and it made me wonder if it was the same with Protools. Any views on that will read with great interest. thx
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-26-2011, 03:06 AM
remis remis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 424
Default Re: 4 core with sandy bridge vs 6 core without?

Quote:
Originally Posted by acer View Post
...I7 950 with 6 cores
The i7 950 is a quad core with hyperthreading...so it has 4 physical cores, and 8 virtual cores...not 6
__________________
PT10, Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56, Eleven Rack, i7 950 @3.80GHz, Noctua NH-D14 CPU cooler, GA-X58A-UD3R, Corsair CMD12GX3M6A1600C8 12GB, SAPPHIRE VAPOR-X HD5770 1GB GDDR5 PCIE, Caviar Black 500GB 32MB Cache OS drive, 2x Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache Sata3 (Audio and library), Broadcom BCM94322MC wireless network adapter
W7 - 312 dverbs @ 64 buffer/ 403 dverbs @ 1024
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-26-2011, 04:50 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,153
Default Re: 4 core with sandy bridge vs 6 core without?

Both are great 4 core processors. The 950 will use Triple Channel RAM and is the more "Pro Tools tested" CPU of the two. The 2600k tests at about 10-15% higher but how that relates to PT stability is still a little unclear.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-26-2011, 10:16 AM
acer acer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 18
Default Re: 4 core with sandy bridge vs 6 core without?

Quote:
Originally Posted by remis View Post
The i7 950 is a quad core with hyperthreading...so it has 4 physical cores, and 8 virtual cores...not 6
Sry your right, I mistyped from the website i found it on. I meant I7 970 six core
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-26-2011, 03:00 PM
remis remis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 424
Default Re: 4 core with sandy bridge vs 6 core without?

Quote:
Originally Posted by acer View Post
Sry your right, I mistyped from the website i found it on. I meant I7 970 six core
Well I'm not sure about the 970, as I haven't come across a build on here using it as yet, but I know Rickthestick's build shown on the first page of the i7 sticky thread was using the 980x 6core i7 CPU and that thing smoked those of us with the i7 950's...even with some of our 950's being overclocked
__________________
PT10, Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56, Eleven Rack, i7 950 @3.80GHz, Noctua NH-D14 CPU cooler, GA-X58A-UD3R, Corsair CMD12GX3M6A1600C8 12GB, SAPPHIRE VAPOR-X HD5770 1GB GDDR5 PCIE, Caviar Black 500GB 32MB Cache OS drive, 2x Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache Sata3 (Audio and library), Broadcom BCM94322MC wireless network adapter
W7 - 312 dverbs @ 64 buffer/ 403 dverbs @ 1024
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-26-2011, 06:32 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,153
Default Re: 4 core with sandy bridge vs 6 core without?

Isn't the 970 a 980 with a locked multiplier?
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-26-2011, 10:23 PM
remis remis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 424
Default Re: 4 core with sandy bridge vs 6 core without?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
Isn't the 970 a 980 with a locked multiplier?
As far as I'm aware...
__________________
PT10, Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56, Eleven Rack, i7 950 @3.80GHz, Noctua NH-D14 CPU cooler, GA-X58A-UD3R, Corsair CMD12GX3M6A1600C8 12GB, SAPPHIRE VAPOR-X HD5770 1GB GDDR5 PCIE, Caviar Black 500GB 32MB Cache OS drive, 2x Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache Sata3 (Audio and library), Broadcom BCM94322MC wireless network adapter
W7 - 312 dverbs @ 64 buffer/ 403 dverbs @ 1024
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motherboard Recommendations for Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz xstortionist Pro Tools 10 0 04-19-2013 06:39 AM
Duo Core to I7 Sandy Bridge Liquid Ghost Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 9 10-01-2012 10:18 AM
RAM Recommendations For Sandy Bridge-e dstryrwiz Pro Tools 10 35 11-29-2011 12:00 AM
Sandy Bridge Gravyblue Windows 0 06-06-2011 12:12 PM
Mix Core and 24 Bit ADAT Bridge Enough? whtrabit Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 02-03-2005 12:30 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com