Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-12-2018, 08:40 AM
nigel smith nigel smith is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: London UK
Posts: 25
Default Digital audio de-embedding

Does de-embedding digital audio from an HDMI or SDI source cause any shift in audio quality or latency? Or is it a direct and simple conversion?

I'm thinking of using one for Pro Tools 48Khz 24bit 5.1 and 7.1 output but don't want to degrade signal path.

The signal will be passed to a CP750 cinema processing unit.

Thanks in advance for any advice.
__________________
Pro Tools HD Native 10.3.7 on Nehalem 2.8 Quad core with 16Gb RAM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-13-2018, 12:58 AM
papalou papalou is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 37
Default Re: Digital audio de-embedding

AFAIK, HDMI embedded audio is PCM, so there's no problem with quality, but I'm not sure that you can easily output ProTools audio using HDMI (could depend on your hardware). And depending on your de-embedder, you'll have to deal with some delay than can exceed 1 frame.
You should have a look on ATV de-embedders, best gears I've found so far with a low price point (and small delay, of course). But still interested if someone has other tools for this job.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-13-2018, 03:46 AM
fresler fresler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Milano, Italy
Posts: 31
Default Re: Digital audio de-embedding

One of my legacy system is running a PT9HD via Hdmi to a 5.1 Yamaha AV receiver.
It's just my "at home" machine, so no need to stretch my budget.
Conversion and monitoring quality is not really something worth talking about, but the benefit of running just one Hdmi cable from a Mac to the receiver, no audio interface involved, is priceless.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SDI audio embedding? rprovideo Post - Surround - Video 8 08-15-2017 06:35 AM
Embedding Rig Settings Help Frettin Freddy Eleven Rack 13 11-12-2014 11:32 AM
PT embedding awful, awful noises into my audio. Houston, we have a problem.... emorganproductions 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 02-26-2010 01:41 AM
embedding timecode into a .bwf?? Murmur Music Post - Surround - Video 1 03-05-2008 11:38 PM
Embedding Audio into SDI V10 David.Klooker Post - Surround - Video 0 03-22-2006 07:33 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com