Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-07-2018, 05:49 AM
russ_signum russ_signum is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 12
Default Re: Signum Audio's Bute Loudness Analyser: Feedback/Suggestions

Quote:
Originally Posted by trevora View Post
Not sure NLEs would be your target market but downloaded and installed trial and did quick test:

Avid Media Composer (v8.9.2 - AAX) - seems to work fine, ganging of plug-in and sequence works well - good for seeing & fixing problem areas. Expand/Collapse worked. Really like the look of it. (TC for sequence not reflected in UI though - shows from 00:00:00.)

Resolve (v15b2 - this is beta)
Resolve crashed out when I tried to add the VST version of the plug-in.

The AU version worked ok but switching expand/collapse view does not correctly resize the plug-in window. Might well be a beta issue.

Gang seems to work OK - added bonus of correct sequence timecode in plugin UI.

Adobe Premiere Pro (v12.1.1)
VST3 Gang works. Switching to collapsed view kept plug-in window large but with a smaller black display where the collapsed view should have been. Closing plug-in window and reopening made collapsed UI appear - still within the larger window.

VST - Applied to master track OK but crashed Premiere when trying to open the plug-in UI.

AU - best version. Gang worked, switching collapsed/expanded had UI window resize and be populated correctly. (TC for sequence not reflected though - shows from 00:00:00)

Premiere has a bug/feature that for multichannel sequences only the audio routed to A1 hits the plug-in (i.e. plug-in shows as 'mono').
We are looking into these issues.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-07-2018, 06:21 AM
russ_signum russ_signum is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 12
Default Re: Signum Audio's Bute Loudness Analyser: Feedback/Suggestions

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimNielsen View Post
I just bought this, and love it. A bargain for the price. A couple possible ideas (really comparing it to the VISLM plugin).

Customizable colors would be fantastic. And one thing that VISLM has that I do miss, is sort of a color-coded 'range' that can show you your upper and lower limits, with that area in between a nice solid 'green' so you can really see at a glance visually if you're in the target zone, without having to rely on the numbers. So you set above -22LUFS to be one color, between -22 and -26 to be say green, and below -26 to be another. Really makes it very easy at a glance to see where you are in reference to loudness.

But otherwise really great plugin, and well worth the price!

Tim
Hi Tim,

Regarding the customisable colours, did you check out our custom warning system? It allows you to define upper and lower boundaries for all different meter ballistics. I have taken a couple of screenshots to illustrate.

Image 1 shows warnings displayed on the meter interface - not only in the history area, but also in the history overview - very useful for longer sessions!

Image 2 shows the corresponding example of the warning settings setup

This should give you an overview of areas requiring your attention at a glance
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image (2).jpg
Views:	0
Size:	33.4 KB
ID:	10429   Click image for larger version

Name:	image (1).jpg
Views:	0
Size:	42.8 KB
ID:	10430  
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-07-2018, 07:34 PM
TimNielsen TimNielsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default Re: Signum Audio's Bute Loudness Analyser: Feedback/Suggestions

Russ, thanks, I haven't explored those all that much yet. But here's a screenshot of VISLM that maybe shows better what I mean. See how you can specify the 'green' area that really easily shows you if you're within the tolerances you specify... That's sort of what I would love to see somehow in Bute!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2018-05-07 at 6.30.47 PM.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	37.3 KB
ID:	10436  
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-09-2018, 10:01 AM
TimNielsen TimNielsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default Re: Signum Audio's Bute Loudness Analyser: Feedback/Suggestions

Oh, and curious if there is any support for 7.1.2 Atmos version... we're starting to deliver that spec for online services that still require loudness metering!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-10-2018, 12:35 AM
MIKEROPHONICS's Avatar
MIKEROPHONICS MIKEROPHONICS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: TWICKENHAM (South West London) UK
Posts: 2,048
Default Re: Signum Audio's Bute Loudness Analyser: Feedback/Suggestions

Tim

Call Jon at Nugen re 7.1.2


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
cheers

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer

BAFTA member
IPS member

former Post Production Expert at www.pro-tools-expert.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-16-2018, 08:03 AM
russ_signum russ_signum is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 12
Default Re: Signum Audio's Bute Loudness Analyser: Feedback/Suggestions

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimNielsen View Post
Oh, and curious if there is any support for 7.1.2 Atmos version... we're starting to deliver that spec for online services that still require loudness metering!
We'll include it in the next update

Regarding your previous post about customisable colours, our developers are looking into how this could be implemented.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-14-2018, 06:22 AM
russ_signum russ_signum is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 12
Default Re: Signum Audio's Bute Loudness Analyser: Feedback/Suggestions

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimNielsen View Post
Oh, and curious if there is any support for 7.1.2 Atmos version... we're starting to deliver that spec for online services that still require loudness metering!
Hi Tim,

Just to let you know, Atmos 7.1.2 is now supported with the Bute Loudness Suite: https://www.signumaudio.com/bute-loudness-suite

It will be supported in the Bute Loudness Analyser as well soon.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AES Recommendation for Loudness on Audio Streaming DonaldM General Discussion 1 11-17-2015 02:40 PM
iZotope RX Loudness Control - Automatic Loudness Correction for Broadcast iZotopeInc AAX Plug-ins 0 05-21-2015 11:16 AM
CALM Acts Audio Loudness, Average Loudness, Program Loudness levels... help needed qr2r Post - Surround - Video 12 11-10-2011 02:41 AM
Suggestions/Feedback gl1tch106 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 12-04-2008 04:19 AM
ProTools 7.3 feedback & suggestions naughty G Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 12-12-2006 03:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com