Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-12-2009, 02:32 AM
Peter Groom Peter Groom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 353
Default External hardware surround panner

Can anyone recommend a good (and hopefully reasonably priced) surround panner

Cheers
Peter
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-12-2009, 05:08 AM
PhilBuckle PhilBuckle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 725
Default Re: External hardware surround panner

The only one I remember was in a studio here in Melbourne about 25 years ago(Platinum I think). It was called "Spanner" or something like that. I just did a google and couldn't turn anything up though.
Can someone remember that box?
__________________
G5 Dual 2.7 OS 10.5.6 HD Accel 2 192+96 I/O
http://philbuckle.com/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-12-2009, 07:14 AM
MaartenC MaartenC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7
Default Re: External hardware surround panner

it's just midi...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-12-2009, 07:16 AM
PhilBuckle PhilBuckle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 725
Default Re: External hardware surround panner

Just noticed you wanted it to do surround, sorry. Why not use a plug?
__________________
G5 Dual 2.7 OS 10.5.6 HD Accel 2 192+96 I/O
http://philbuckle.com/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-12-2009, 09:01 AM
Peter Groom Peter Groom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 353
Default Re: External hardware surround panner

Pt has onscreen panners as standard, but i wanted an external joystick as its much faster. a bit like preferring faders over mouse control of faders
Peter
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-12-2009, 09:17 AM
Russ M. Russ M. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New England
Posts: 252
Default Re: External hardware surround panner

API use to make one years ago. Maybe you can still get them OEM. I don't see it listed on the web site but sometime if you ask.
http://www.apiaudio.com/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-12-2009, 09:31 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: External hardware surround panner

for the D-Com but is should work
http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?...00&itemid=4955
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-12-2009, 09:47 AM
steverispin steverispin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Buckinghamshire, England
Posts: 16
Default Re: External hardware surround panner

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilBuckle View Post
. It was called "Spanner" or something like that...
Can someone remember that box?
Electrospace Developments Spanner SP-2

Electrospace is long gone, but they still come up on eBay from time to time. $2000 unit when new..
Stereo only.

Another good box is the Survival Projects Quad Panner - an auto or triggered pan with 4x outputs. That's more on-topic, but doesn't have a joystick.

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-12-2009, 01:11 PM
TCDet TCDet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Detroit
Posts: 903
Default Re: External hardware surround panner

JL cooper joystick, also the joystick on the Tascam 2400 fader-controller used the jl driver.
Not too cheep though.
I set my trackball to hold the PT's fader-ball soft-panner.
Maybe the new Axiom-Pro's address this?
Martin-audio for external panning/joysticks.....$$$
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Surround panner bug? Richard Fairbanks Post - Surround - Video 6 08-11-2007 01:47 PM
Digidesign External Surround Panner FatBelly 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 09-27-2006 05:08 PM
New Digi/JL Cooper external surround panner! Stuart P. Post - Surround - Video 1 09-27-2006 01:44 PM
surround panner propeler Post - Surround - Video 6 03-16-2004 05:02 AM
Anyone know of a surround panner for NT? jamerkel Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 02-14-2000 11:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com