Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-18-2004, 05:17 PM
tbuttons tbuttons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1
Default Kontact Player & Sibelius w/002

Just this week acquired a G-5, 002r, & Sibelius w/ Kontact Player Gold, only to read after registering the Sibelius software that the Kontact Player Gold (configured expressly for Sibelius) has major compatiblity issues with the 002! Anyone out there w/ info. Might 6.7 LE offer a fix?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-18-2004, 05:29 PM
Willie Myers Willie Myers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 224
Default Re: Kontact Player & Sibelius w/002

hey man,

I'm one of those guys over on the Sibelius bb writing about Sib./002 problems. At least in my case, Kontakt doesn't even enter in to it. I run Sibelius in "midi-only" with all Kontakt stuff erased and I get a COS (crash on startup) *everytime* I try and launch Sib. with the 002r up and running. It's been like that for over a year now thru 2 Sibelius upgrades and 2 or 3 Digi upgrades. For me, the simple workaround is to shut the 002r off before launching Sibelius and as I'm running midi only, it doesn't matter to me ,though it's a giant PITA and a few unnecessary cycles for the 002r's power switch. But for anyone who needs to run audio thru while using Sibelius, I htink there could be a major problem. Fact is, I haven't heard of anyone on this (or Sibelius') bb mention that they are successfully running Sibelius ver 3 on a Mac running OS X Jaguar or Panther, using a Digi interface. I'm really feeling that it's either a Sibelius/OS X Firewire issure or a Sibelius/Digi Core Audio issue. Sibelius has indicated that it's a Kontakt or Digi firmware issue, but from my experience, that's not going to fly.
__________________
PTools 10.3.5, DigitalPerf 8.04, Sibelius 6.2,
Mac OS 10.8.4
MacPro 3,1 8core 2.8Ghz, 16 Gig RAM,
4 x 120Gig hds,
multiple LCDs
Presonus FireStudio Project, MTP AV
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-01-2005, 10:57 PM
Jepse Jepse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 157
Default Re: Kontact Player & Sibelius w/002

Just read this post and as I own the same software and hoped to link the 002 with sibelius and Kontact Gold I'm sorry to hear it's not working well together. Thanks, you both saved me lots of time. Hopefully things will change in the future.
__________________
MacBook Pro 2019 15 inch 32 GB RAM
Pro Tools 19.6
Apollo X8P
RPQ2 Stereo PreAmp
Some Analog Gear, Various Mics
Guitars, Electric, Acoustic, Piano
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-02-2005, 08:09 PM
JohnDipper JohnDipper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 20
Default Re: Kontact Player & Sibelius w/002

I've got a PowerBook and a 002Rack, and had installed the Kontact player, only to discover that it always defaults its playback volume to -12dB, which is way too quiet!!! Phoned Sibelius, to ask how I reset and assign my own default playback volume to be told I couldn't and had I thought about buying a pair of headphones for when I wanted to make music on the PowerBook!

Sibelius has some VERY flakey bits, and is really not very good IMHO, I ended up deleting Kontact player, and using internal MIDI sounds, rubbish, but that seems to be Sibelius through and through. . . ;-(

I tend to use the PB's speakers to play back bits of score while PTLE is open.

Not meaning to steer this thread off on a tangent, but has anybody got a good thing to say about Sibelius 3 or any tips on making Kontact player usable?

John
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reali-Banjo - Virtual Instrument - Kontact Player YYR123 Virtual Instruments 19 11-30-2013 02:06 PM
Sibelius Tech-->Sibelius 6.2 Will NOT work on the Same Lion Machine as PT 9.0.5?!?!! humdrumprune macOS 4 11-04-2011 06:36 PM
Kontact/Garrittan from Sibelius into Pro Tools? tmanoff Virtual Instruments 1 01-02-2010 04:09 PM
Garritan Personal Orch/Kontact Player Problem offcentermusic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 05-25-2004 09:54 AM
Sibelius 3.1.1, Kontakt Player and Mbox? jstaczek 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-06-2004 04:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com