Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-11-2001, 11:08 PM
voxpitch voxpitch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Posts: 66
Default How can I have the monitor outs and main outs to the same input?

I am getting ready to build a new machine for my 001. Can anyone tell me? I want to run my analog outputs to my stereo for monitoring, which I know I can get cables to go from 1/4" to RCA. But, I also want to use the monitor outputs for my keyboard to do the saem and my receiver on has one available stereo input (aux input). SOOO, I guess my question is, is it feasable to make cables that have 4 1/4" jacks on one end (2 stereo pairs, one pair for each output) that go into on pair of RCA stereo plugs on the other so I can use either? Sounds kind of silly I know, but if if it works, it works right!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-12-2001, 11:38 AM
nakedsingularity nakedsingularity is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Dallas, TX 75206
Posts: 15
Default Re: How can I have the monitor outs and main outs to the same input?

Go to any Radio Shack and they cab build something like that for you. But remember - each side will be mono. You cannot get true stero monitoring that way. Better to run your keyboard into the 001, give it a live track and monitor everything via the 001 outs.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-15-2001, 09:16 AM
IOP Drummer IOP Drummer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 570
Default Re: How can I have the monitor outs and main outs to the same input?

Never try to put mulitiple outputs into a less number of inputs. You will ruin things (and ears) and it is not good at all. Try to imagine swallowing a car. Humans aren't made for doing that and neither are cables.
__________________
Mike Blanchard
Engineer
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digi002 rack main outs vs monitor outs studiojb 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-03-2012 07:46 AM
Problem with 002 main outs as well as head phone outs? wiseal1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-10-2009 11:36 AM
Digi 002 Monitor and Main outs- the deal? toddbux 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 05-22-2007 05:16 AM
001.....Main Outs or Monitor Outs G. Klopfenstein 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-01-2004 08:07 PM
Strange problem using monitor outs and outs 1+2 CCash 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-11-2003 10:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com