Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-19-2010, 02:27 PM
ssiimm85 ssiimm85 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 7
Default Mbox 2 w/ Pro Tools 8, clicks and pops during record and playback

I recently upgraded to Pro Tools 8.0.4 to use with my Mbox 2, however, during record and playback there are clicks and pops. I am recording at a 44.1 kHz sample rate and a 24-bit bit depth.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-19-2010, 06:42 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,448
Default Re: Mbox 2 w/ Pro Tools 8, clicks and pops during record and playback

What OS are you running? If its XP, I would roll back to 8.0.1cs2. 8.0.4 has shown some minor issues on WP that make it less than perfect. Now is there anything coming into the Mbox SPDIF input? If yes, then you need to choose your clock source as SPDIF.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-20-2010, 04:53 PM
ssiimm85 ssiimm85 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 7
Default Re: Mbox 2 w/ Pro Tools 8, clicks and pops during record and playback

I'm running Windows 7 64-bit. There is nothing going into my S/PDIF inputs so I have the clock source set to internal. But this has to be some kind of clock problem, right?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-20-2010, 05:11 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Mbox 2 w/ Pro Tools 8, clicks and pops during record and playback

It could also be a USB issue. I had similar problems with the MBox 2 Mini at first, but switching USB ports solved the problem for me.

So some things to try:
  1. Try another USB port.
  2. Make sure you have Windows set to NOT power down USB devices from the root hubs.
  3. Try a powered USB hub; one that plugs into a wall socket.

All 3 of those solutions have helped in several cases of noise with the USB interfaces.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-20-2010, 05:45 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,448
Default Re: Mbox 2 w/ Pro Tools 8, clicks and pops during record and playback

Do all that, then go here and watch the videos for Windows
http://www.youtube.com/view_play_lis...EC1AEC94DB22D6
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-20-2010, 07:10 PM
ssiimm85 ssiimm85 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 7
Default Re: Mbox 2 w/ Pro Tools 8, clicks and pops during record and playback

I've disabled my computer from powering down the usb ports, and I've also tried using a different usb port. Since I don't have a powered usb hub, I can't really try that right now. The annoying clicking still remains. Getting desperate.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-20-2010, 08:21 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,448
Default Re: Mbox 2 w/ Pro Tools 8, clicks and pops during record and playback

Try a different buffer setting. Did any other version of PT work on your computer? If yes, go back to that version. If no, post a Sandra report as someone may be able to spot a hardware issue.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-20-2010, 08:56 PM
ssiimm85 ssiimm85 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 7
Default Re: Mbox 2 w/ Pro Tools 8, clicks and pops during record and playback

It's pretty much a brand new computer. Would the buffer setting make a difference? The clicks and pops are there even when I'm in record-ready.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-21-2010, 07:03 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,448
Default Re: Mbox 2 w/ Pro Tools 8, clicks and pops during record and playback

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssiimm85 View Post
It's pretty much a brand new computer. Would the buffer setting make a difference? The clicks and pops are there even when I'm in record-ready.
Windows users need to provide a Sandra report

- Please - Use SiSoftware's Sandra Lite application to generate a full system profile:

www.sisoftware.co.uk

Under SiSoftware Sandra, click on "Download & Buy" to download the free Sandra Lite version or purchase other versions. After installing Sandra, click on the 'Hardware' tab and run the 'Computer Overview', then copy and paste into your post here on the DUC.


The more information you can provide, the easier it will be for Tech Support and other users to assist you - take the time now to document everything you can and you'll save time in the long run. We can't express enough the importance of describing everything in extreme detail - remember, no one here can see how your gear is configured, so we need an accurate description by you to get a clear picture. The better we can envision your setup, the easier it will be to troubleshoot.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-23-2010, 08:04 PM
ssiimm85 ssiimm85 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 7
Default Re: Mbox 2 w/ Pro Tools 8, clicks and pops during record and playback

SiSoftware Sandra

Computer
Model : Asus G73Jh

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU Q 720 @ 1.60GHz
Speed : 1.85GHz
Cores per Processor : 4 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 2 Unit(s)
Type : Mobile, Quad-Core
Integrated Data Cache : 4x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L2 On-board Cache : 4x 256kB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L3 On-board Cache : 6MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 12-way, Exclusive, 64 byte line size, 8 threads sharing

Computer
Platform Compliance : Intel Centrino Mobile Technology
Mainboard : Asus G73Jh
BIOS : AMI G73Jh.204 01/11/2010
Bus(es) : PCI PCIe IMB USB i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
Total Memory : 6GB DDR3 SO-DIMM

Chipset
Model : ASUS Clarksfield/Lynnfield DMI
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 2.56GHz (5.11GHz)

Chipset
Model : Intel Core Mobile (Clarksfield) UnCore
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 2.27GHz (4.54GHz)
Total Memory : 6GB DDR3 SO-DIMM
Channels : 2
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 710MHz (1.42GHz)

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Kingston ASU1333D3S9DR82G 2GB DDR3 SO-DIMM PC3-10700S DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Memory Module : Kingston ASU1333D3S9DR82G 2GB DDR3 SO-DIMM PC3-10700S DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Memory Module : Kingston ASU1333D3S9DR82G 2GB DDR3 SO-DIMM PC3-10700S DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)

Video System
Video Adapter : ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5870 (720 SM5.0 700MHz, 1GB DDR5 2x1GHz, PCIe 2.00 x16)

Graphics Processor
STREAM Processor : ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5870 (800SP 10C 700MHz, 1GB 2x1GHz)
Compute Shader Processor : ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5870 (720SP 700MHz, 1012.7MB 2x1GHz)

Storage Devices
Seagate ST9500420AS (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 16MB Cache) : 466GB (C:)
Seagate ST3400632A (400GB, USB/ATA, 3.5") : 373GB (D:)
HL-DT-STDVDRAM GT30N (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 1MB Cache, 192kB Flash) : N/A (E:)

Logical Storage Devices
OS (C:) : 446GB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST9500420AS (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 16MB Cache)
SEA_DISK (D:) : 373GB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST3400632A (400GB, USB/ATA, 3.5")
Optical Drive (E:) : N/A @ HL-DT-STDVDRAM GT30N (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 1MB Cache, 192kB Flash)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : ASUS HM55 LPC Interface Controller
Audio Device : ASUS P55/PM55/3400 High Definition Audio
Audio Codec : Realtek Semiconductor High Definition Audio
Audio Device : ASUS EG JUNIPER XT Audio Device [Radeon HD 5700 Series]
Audio Codec : ATI (AMD) HDMI Audio
Disk Controller : ASUS P55/PM55/3400 4 port SATA AHCI Controller
USB Controller 1 : ASUS P55/PM55/3400 USB2 Enhanced Host Controller
USB Controller 2 : ASUS P55/PM55/3400 USB2 Enhanced Host Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel 801xx/63xx SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Printer : HP Photosmart C7200 series (1200x1200, USB, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Atheros AR8131 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller
Wireless Adapter 1 : Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (802.11n (HT), AES-CCMP, 65Mbps)

Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : On-Line
Battery No 1 : 99%

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Home 6.01.7600
Platform Compliance : x64

Windows Experience Index
Current System : 5.9
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clicks and Pops During Playback and Record (Not a Buffer Issue) SamRisen Windows 10 11-11-2013 05:44 AM
Mbox (regular) 3rd gen with pt9 playback pops and clicks jonnystrides FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 12 05-01-2013 08:24 AM
Clicks and Pops During Record But Only Heard on Playback jrtme Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 12-09-2009 08:17 AM
HELLLP!!! Clicks and pops Durring playback and Record but not at Bounce! PRS2300 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 01-05-2009 03:07 PM
audible pops and clicks on playback/pt 6.4/mbox chunkymutt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-28-2006 05:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com