How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 10-27-2016, 02:01 PM

Default Trying to fix 20 seconds of flawed audio

Hi everybody,

I'm a total Pro Tools newbie and just joined the forum. Greetings to all! I need some expert advice on an unexpected audio problem I found in a file that I am working on in Pro Tools, though it was not originally recorded in Pro Tools.

Background: At a recent recording session (classical organ), I stupidly played the opening two lines of a piece only once (breaking my own "play everything at least twice" rule). Later, I discovered what might be a clocking error (or something) in that take. It is a repetitive nasty disturbance that modulates the audio for about 20 seconds and then disappears. Can anyone recommend a tool or procedure which might rescue this? Alternatively, I'll be driving from MA to FL to record those two lines again. Yay!

This link is to a 1-minute clip that contains the problem. It manifests about 20 seconds in and lasts 20 seconds:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...%20opening.mp3

Thanks in advance for any inspiration that you all can provide!

Doug
Old 10-27-2016, 07:36 PM

Default Re: Trying to fix 20 seconds of flawed audio

It might be interesting to hear what people will suggest but if recording again is an option for you then go for it and don't look back. Good luck
Old 10-27-2016, 08:06 PM

It may be difficult, if not impossible, to repair that issue.

How was it recorded, if not using Pro Tools? What was the original audio file format?

Try to access the original file, not a copy, or have someone else check the original recording and see if the same issue exists there.
Old 10-28-2016, 03:28 AM