Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-26-2013, 12:49 PM
Justin1524 Justin1524 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 617
Default HD Native with 2 blue interfaces hookup question

I have...

1 - HD Native PCIe card
1 - 96 IO
1 - 192 Digital IO

Is it better for me to use both ports on my HD Native card to hook up both interfaces or to run a single cable (with adapter) then use the Expansion port on one of the interfaces to daisy chain to the other interface? Maybe it doesn't matter just curious.

Thanks for the help!

Bonus question - since I use the 96 IO for analog to digital and digital to analog, should I pitch it and get a 192 blue analog 16x16 on ebay for $500-$800 or hold out for an Avid IO analog 16x16 for around $2300 on ebay? What would you do? Remember money counts.
__________________
Justin
Admin
www.elevenrackpresets.com
Studio: 2010 Mac Pro Tower Intel Xeon 12 core 3.33 GHz, 64 GB macOS Mojave PCIe SSD 256GB Boot | Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 | HD Native Card | Digi 192 Analog & 192 Digital Blue | Digi PRE, FR OctoPre MKII, Mackie Onyx 800R, Panasonic WZ-AD96M and DA7, Eleven Rack, Apogee Big Ben, Waves DLI, Impact Server, Horizon, Rode K2, Slate VMS ML-1. Laptop: Dell Inspiron 5559, i7-6500U 2.6Ghz, 16 GB RAM, 15.6" 1920x1080 1TB SSD
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-26-2013, 01:20 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,418
Default Re: HD Native with 2 blue interfaces hookup question

There is no difference whether you use two digilinks or one daisy-chained. Other than it is cheaper to buy one long and one short cable and one adapter, compared to two long cables and two adapters.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-27-2013, 12:27 AM
Firechild Firechild is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 806
Default Re: HD Native with 2 blue interfaces hookup question

No, don´t go for the blue 192. They are just a notch better sounding than the 96. However the new AVID HD I/O 8x8x8 is another matter, sounds great !
__________________
HD3 PCIe, HD I/O , HD10.3.10, Mac Pro 6 core , 24 GB RAM , GTX285 , 10.8.5 , UAD-2 Quad Satellite , ATC SCM25A Pro with ADAM Sub 12.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-27-2013, 09:20 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,006
Default Re: HD Native with 2 blue interfaces hookup question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Firechild View Post
No, don´t go for the blue 192. They are just a notch better sounding than the 96. However the new AVID HD I/O 8x8x8 is another matter, sounds great !
Plenty of hit recordings have been done on 192's so if budget is tight, they will serve you fine(but I agree; buy the best you can afford). Some stuff to consider, with a 192 digital, there should be no sound quality difference at all as you are feeding it digital(so the conversion happens in another box anyway). The stock 96IO has the same converters as the 003, so gauge quality with that in mind. You might bump your audio quality by adding an analog output card to the 192 and using that as your outputs(unless you have a digital solution already).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-27-2013, 05:45 PM
Justin1524 Justin1524 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 617
Default Re: HD Native with 2 blue interfaces hookup question

Thanks for the tips. As I understand it, if it says "Digital" on the faceplate you can't add cards to it even thought it looks like you should be able to - something about the power supply being insufficient in this model.

My concern with investing too much in blue interfaces is Avid will eventually stop supporting them in their latest version of Pro Tools - they already have said "not officially supported" in PT 11 HD. With HD and HDX, there is no support for the legacy port on blue interfaces ergo the need for me to sell off my 24-bit ADAT bridge (single rackspace) and pick up a 192 Digital (blue). If Avid has a technical reason to disable their own interfaces in software, I guess I can see that. But if it's just a tactic to sell more interfaces then I find that discouraging. There's already enough shock factor realizing you've got to replace plugin's - but hey - I can accept that given the new life PT 11 HD's 64bit audio engine pumps into my 2008 Mac Pro. I suppose those of us that love the latest software will always have to adapt our hardware somewhat. What do you think?

So in sum, my entry fee to PT 11 HD (less plugins cost):
1.) $850 ebay - HD Native card (to replace HD|2)
2.) $599 Avid - upgrade PT 10 HD to 11 HD.
3.) $350 ebay - 192 Digital blue (to replace 24-bit ADAT bridge)

Of course I can try selling off my old stuff to recoup some $. Feeding the eco-system of users that are perfectly happy with stopping at PT 10 HD and keeping TDM alive! Long live TDM only Indigo!
__________________
Justin
Admin
www.elevenrackpresets.com
Studio: 2010 Mac Pro Tower Intel Xeon 12 core 3.33 GHz, 64 GB macOS Mojave PCIe SSD 256GB Boot | Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 | HD Native Card | Digi 192 Analog & 192 Digital Blue | Digi PRE, FR OctoPre MKII, Mackie Onyx 800R, Panasonic WZ-AD96M and DA7, Eleven Rack, Apogee Big Ben, Waves DLI, Impact Server, Horizon, Rode K2, Slate VMS ML-1. Laptop: Dell Inspiron 5559, i7-6500U 2.6Ghz, 16 GB RAM, 15.6" 1920x1080 1TB SSD
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-03-2013, 10:49 AM
agershon agershon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 94
Default Re: HD Native with 2 blue interfaces hookup question

Not too much to add (sorry) but I'm also interested if there's a preference between the second port on the Native card or the expansion ports on my Omni. I have mine hooked to the second port on the card, by the way. Is working fine now. I had to use Loop Sync, though. Wouldn't work with clock from the Omni.

I just grabbed a 192 analog ... couldn't justify spending 3-4x the amount for the HD I/O. Lots of evidence that the Blue interfaces are working fine in PT11. Plus I'm "just a hobbyist" and, as was mentioned above, thousands of legit albums have been made with 192s.
__________________
PT10 HD Native Thunderbolt w/ HD Omni
MacBook Pro - Core i7, 8G RAM, 10.8.4
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 11, HD Native and blue interfaces Justin1524 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 11 11-18-2013 11:32 PM
Blue interfaces with HDN and PT10/11? albee1952 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 1 10-03-2013 12:09 AM
Protools 10.3 HD Native and Blue interfaces Cambubs Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 10-26-2012 07:53 AM
HDX + blue interfaces - opinions? janmuths Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 11 08-21-2012 04:44 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com