Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-21-2011, 06:51 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,019
Default waves vocal rider is it any good

hi guys

Any one using vocal rider, is it worth the dosh does it make the vocals sit better in the mix

Thanks
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-21-2011, 08:35 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,006
Default Re: waves vocal rider is it any good

I give it a thumbs up
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-21-2011, 08:41 AM
Dorian Green Dorian Green is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: France
Posts: 210
Default Re: waves vocal rider is it any good

It's veryu good as long as you have a nice, tight and clean submix to trigger the Rider ! It acts like a real time "adaptative" compressor ! but sounds smoother !
__________________
Green Room Studios, France
Mac Book Pro i7 15"4 Mac OSX 10.6.6
PT 9.0.2
DIY Intel Core 2 Quad, P5B Premium,DDR2 6GB, Win 7 Ultimate.
PTLE 8.0.4
002R Unit and MBox Mini
SSL XLogic Alpha Channel.
SPL Goldmike valve Preamp.
DBX Analog Compressors, Gate and Eq.
Monster Cables
Home made & Neutrik Patchbay.
Brauner, Shure, Seinnheiser and T.Bone mikes.
Tannoy 8D Active monitors.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-21-2011, 09:37 AM
dtmprod dtmprod is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 434
Default Re: waves vocal rider is it any good

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raoul23 View Post
hi guys

Any one using vocal rider, is it worth the dosh does it make the vocals sit better in the mix

Thanks
I've never used it to 'ride' the vocal above a mix. But using it as a 'leveler' during a mix eliminates the need for any type of heavy compression. Definitely worth the money...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-22-2011, 01:45 AM
elicious elicious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,363
Default Re: waves vocal rider is it any good

can also sound better than compression
on certain basses & hats.
e
__________________
ihatetyping
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-22-2011, 04:01 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,019
Default Re: waves vocal rider is it any good

Cheers guys sounds like its worth the dosh, better get the cash out then lol

__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-22-2011, 04:14 AM
Bubblegum Bubblegum is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: South East Asia
Posts: 324
Default Re: waves vocal rider is it any good

I've not tried Vocal Rider, but I use WaveRider.

http://www.automaticmixing.com/

Which I happen to think is a superb plugin. It does no processing to your audio at all, it reads the level of it and adjusts the fader, so effectively becomes an intelligent manual fader rider.

You can write the pass into automation and job done.

Personally I think Waves saw this plugin and quickly pushed out Vocal Rider because they could see it was a good idea. As far as I recall Waverider v1 was around before Vocal Rider.

Worth a look in my opinion.
__________________
MojoBat Productions
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-22-2011, 09:38 AM
dtmprod dtmprod is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 434
Default Re: waves vocal rider is it any good

I used WaveRider when it first came out. It also works very good. But unfortunately, doesn't work in real time. I guess V 2 does now, but you have to set your buffer to 1024 samples to work correctly. I'm sure the Waves version is a 'copy' of this plugin. But the fact that Waves works in real time is a winner for me. But if you have more time than money, maybe look at this as well. I think it runs around $125, lot cheaper than Vocal Rider.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-22-2011, 11:13 PM
Bubblegum Bubblegum is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: South East Asia
Posts: 324
Default Re: waves vocal rider is it any good

Yeah, I simply use wave rider to write the moves in automation then take it off. Works great for me that way. It also cost me a lot less than $125 since I bought v1 for about $49 or something and then the upgrade price was really small too.

And no WUP either!
__________________
MojoBat Productions
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-23-2011, 12:52 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,014
Default Re: waves vocal rider is it any good

I tried vocal rider and bought it the next day.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.12 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
> Waves Vocal Rider - Live Howardk VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 05-30-2010 06:32 AM
Waves Vocal Rider = Cheating? gsilbers Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 03-14-2010 01:22 AM
Waves Vocal Rider - Setup GS-DK Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 03-13-2010 04:06 PM
Waves Vocal Rider bug. usastra Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-05-2010 05:00 PM
Waves vocal rider crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 11-03-2009 11:42 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:36 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com