Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-27-2016, 03:01 PM
dougwm dougwm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Default Trying to fix 20 seconds of flawed audio

Hi everybody,

I'm a total Pro Tools newbie and just joined the forum. Greetings to all! I need some expert advice on an unexpected audio problem I found in a file that I am working on in Pro Tools, though it was not originally recorded in Pro Tools.

Background: At a recent recording session (classical organ), I stupidly played the opening two lines of a piece only once (breaking my own "play everything at least twice" rule). Later, I discovered what might be a clocking error (or something) in that take. It is a repetitive nasty disturbance that modulates the audio for about 20 seconds and then disappears. Can anyone recommend a tool or procedure which might rescue this? Alternatively, I'll be driving from MA to FL to record those two lines again. Yay!

This link is to a 1-minute clip that contains the problem. It manifests about 20 seconds in and lasts 20 seconds:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...%20opening.mp3

Thanks in advance for any inspiration that you all can provide!

Doug
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-27-2016, 08:36 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,343
Default Re: Trying to fix 20 seconds of flawed audio

It might be interesting to hear what people will suggest but if recording again is an option for you then go for it and don't look back. Good luck
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-27-2016, 09:06 PM
c-tone c-tone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,092
Default Re: Trying to fix 20 seconds of flawed audio

It may be difficult, if not impossible, to repair that issue.

How was it recorded, if not using Pro Tools? What was the original audio file format?

Try to access the original file, not a copy, or have someone else check the original recording and see if the same issue exists there.
__________________
www.clifnorrell.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-28-2016, 04:28 AM
weezul weezul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Newcastle, UK
Posts: 377
Default Re: Trying to fix 20 seconds of flawed audio

I'd shake the hand of the guy who could repair that! That's particularly bad clocking sounds. I usually just get clicks that RX could probably handle. The tone of the recording seems to really change at that point though. You could maybe use a software organ for that section, and use some form of EQ match to blend it. Try and crossfade it in and out? I think a re-record is your only option (wether in the same place, or as an overdub)
__________________
http://www.liamgaughan.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-28-2016, 09:37 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,005
Default Re: Trying to fix 20 seconds of flawed audio

I think it can be repaired (maybe) BUT only way I know of would be use the Izotope RX https://www.izotope.com/en/products/repair-and-edit/rx.html not cheap $349 for the standard version but if you are doing a lot of recording of acoustical instruments it can be an invaluable tool. I have used the standard version for my acoustic guitar recordings for a little over a year now and it is pretty impressive

But as weezul said above there is such a drastic change in tone and volume that even though you could probably remove the initial sound the before the soft organ part starts with RX the removing the rest of the intermmittent ones might also create drop outs that may be noticeable and perhaps only masked by some kind of delay effect or something added to that part. But it will probably not sound like originally intended
__________________
System :
Avid HD Omni I/O Interface ...Mid 2010 Mac Pro/ processor- 3.33 6-core Intel Xeon "Westmere" w/ Memory- 24 GB, Radeon Pulse RX 580 8GB GDDR5 Dual HDMI Graphics Card..... OS- Mojave 10.14.6, and PTHDN 2019.12 on on primary boot drive (SSD PCIe 512 GB Samsung SM951) FCPX files storage on Samsung 970 EVO 1TB and PT sessions storage on 2nd Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB -- both in dual drive Crest I/O PCIE controller adaptor card


"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...

Last edited by K Roche; 10-28-2016 at 09:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-28-2016, 12:50 PM
studiostuff studiostuff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 238
Default Re: Trying to fix 20 seconds of flawed audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by K Roche View Post
I think it can be repaired (maybe) BUT only way I know of would be use the Izotope RX https://www.izotope.com/en/products/repair-and-edit/rx.html
I gave it a lash w/RX-5 Advanced and was unable to do much in the way of a convincing repair.

Maybe someone w/more RX-5 skills than I have can do it. But I'd say from a quick glance and attempt that it is not going to be fixable.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-28-2016, 01:34 PM
DontLetMeDrown DontLetMeDrown is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 228
Default Re: Trying to fix 20 seconds of flawed audio

Not sure that's fixable. On the bright side, the glitch is pretty trippy would make a perfect intro for a metal song. Cue the blast beats! \m/
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-28-2016, 01:40 PM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,389
Default Re: Trying to fix 20 seconds of flawed audio

Here's my suggestion.

If there's nothing else playing at all in that moment and you simply want to save the reverb tail, it's pretty easy to do.
1 - Create an aux that has about the same feel as the original room ambiance, and one with a reverb that has about the same decay.
2 - create a fade out that is pretty steep just before the beginning of the crackling
3 - automate the aux channels so that the mute comes off a tad before the fade out, and automate a fade in on the aux channel that is the exact opposite of the fade out, placed exactly at the same point.
4- make sure that the ambiance aux feeds the reverb aux.

If you dial it in well, this will basically fade out the crackling before it happens, and the last note(chord) will be picked up by the ambiance and reverb aux to complete the reverb tail.

// edit, I was listening to it at work on too low levels to hear the strings. disregard, Izotope might have a tool for it, but it will have an effect on the sound.
__________________
Manny.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
the audio comes two seconds after janofuentealba Pro Tools 11 2 09-02-2015 10:59 AM
audio disruptions every 60 seconds sbaures Pro Tools 11 8 02-25-2014 07:07 PM
Weird sounding audio after few seconds scontrer Pro Tools 10 3 08-27-2013 02:57 AM
PT HD8 getting clicks and only 5 seconds of audio repeated bleeding ears Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 07-10-2013 06:14 PM
M-Audio ProFire Lightbridge driver is flawed humperdinck macOS 3 03-28-2012 07:47 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:25 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com