Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 02-02-2010, 02:25 PM

Default Thoughts on getting hired as an Engineer or AE at a Studio in Southern California?

Greetings fellow DUC'ers,
Recently I have been seriously considering moving to Southern California and am in the process of formulating a strategy for getting hired at a Professional Studio as a Engineer or Assistant Engineer. I have been a Recording Engineer professionally for almost 7 years, 4 of which were at a Commercial Studio that I Co-Owned and Operated. I also have a degree in Recording for whatever it's worth.

It seems to me that the traditional method of blanketing the area with resumes is not only inefficient, but also unlikely to yield any results given the current state of the industry and the growing trend of the home studio etc. (although I could be wrong), so I am trying to determine the best plan of attack.

One possible method that I have considered is to plan a trip out there and make some appointments for interviews for information and studio walk throughs at studios of interest although I do not want to be deceitful in my intentions, (eg. pretend like I am checking out a studio for the sake of potentially doing a recording there) but I am hoping that this process may lead to meeting people who may at the very least give me greater insight into how to proceed.

In some ways it feels like obtaining an Engineering job in Southern California is a bit like trying to break into some type of secret society, so any insight or thoughts on the subject that any of you could share with me would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!