Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Old 08-08-2019, 08:35 PM

Default .ptx file corruption-missing audio and video files- no way to relink-

I'm a post professional and have been using Pro Tools HDX for the last 7 years. This bug is a first and one of the WORST I've ever seen, period.

Twice in the last month, I've had .ptx files get corrupted and remove audio files AND video files from my session. I'm not talking about disk allocation issues where audio needs to be re-linked. I'm saying that audio, in this case specifically audio that came from mix prep (AAFs/OMFs), imported video (along with audio) are GONE from the session. The ONLY remaining audio has been processed using audio suite, rendered in place (Opt+Shift+3) or spotted with Soundminer. In some cases, random audio has been placed where old clips once were. So on my DX channels, random FX and Foley now occupy the bounds of the previous clip.

The .ptx file is now corrupt. The missing audio files are no longer in the clip bin either. The audio is not deleted though. It's still technically in the "Audio Files" folder. (See SS1 and SS2) for a look at the session edit windows.
SS1-Missing Audio and Video at 5PM
SS2-Last Session File back up with Audio and Video in tact at 1PM

Unfortunately, this issue seems to affect session file back ups as well, sometimes going back several hours. A tell tale sign something is up, is that the session file backs ups suddenly get smaller in size compared to hours before (or the day before) when the .ptx files aren't corrupt.(See SS3 and SS4).
SS3-Session File back ups suddenly smaller at 1:13PM from 4MB to 2.6MB
SS4-Main ptx file corrupt and smaller (2.7 MB) in the root of the folder