Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-18-2020, 06:11 AM
The_Bear The_Bear is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Israel, Ramat Gan
Posts: 9
Default Chossing an iMac 27" - Which one?

Hey there :)

I'm searching for an iMac in 27" size for working with Pro Tools
I just don't know how which one is best for me.

1) What difference will it make for me if I choose i5 3.0GHz or i5 3.8GHz, or even i9 3.6GHz? How much influence does it make on Pro Tools?

2) What about iMac Pro? How much difference does it make compared to the "regular" iMac?

3) Is Fusion Drive a problem? Should I choose only SSD?

Thanks in advance :)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-18-2020, 07:09 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,057
Default Re: Chossing an iMac 27" - Which one?

First of all you should avoid Fusion drive at all cost, it is not suitable for Pro Audio. Period.

Second, go to www.everymac.com and see the specs of the models you are looking for. There are geekbench numbers available for every CPU out there and you can have a good idea how the models perform in comparison to each others. Bear in mind that low single-core performance is not necessarily a problem unless you run one very CPU-hungry process (plugin for example) but you generally speaking want to get good multi-core performance.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-18-2020, 07:22 AM
The_Bear The_Bear is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Israel, Ramat Gan
Posts: 9
Default Re: Chossing an iMac 27" - Which one?

Thanks for the answer :)
Do you have any iMac model to recommend? Is there any difference between the iMac release year?

Oh, and should I even choose windows and not mac?

Thanks :P
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-18-2020, 07:31 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,057
Default Re: Chossing an iMac 27" - Which one?

Just take a look at the specs and your budget, you will find your answer. I cannot recommend Windows, have left those behind me two decades ago
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-18-2020, 07:34 AM
The_Bear The_Bear is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Israel, Ramat Gan
Posts: 9
Default Re: Chossing an iMac 27" - Which one?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Just take a look at the specs and your budget, you will find your answer. I cannot recommend Windows, have left those behind me two decades ago
That's the point I'm afraid of. I presume i5 3.1GHz will be enough for me, but I guess I'm wrong.
I look for something that will serve me for a long time. Any guidelines you can give me for looking?
I saw the Avid mac specs at their site. I'm afraid to choose the low-power iMac and to see it working slowly after a year or two
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-18-2020, 07:36 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,057
Default Re: Chossing an iMac 27" - Which one?

If it works great now, the solution is to not upgrade your OS for the years to come.

If your plan is upgrading everything all the time, the solution is to fork up as much money for your hardware now and it will likely last longer.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-18-2020, 07:53 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,057
Default Re: Chossing an iMac 27" - Which one?

I can give you one comparison though. This iMac Pro has same 3.0GHz 10-core processor that I swapped to my Trashcan. It has plenty of power. Obviously everything else is different between iMac Pro and Mac Pro, but as you asked for CPU performance, there's your benchmark.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-19-2020, 04:18 AM
jesele jesele is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sweden
Posts: 200
Default Re: Chossing an iMac 27" - Which one?

I would go for the regular iMac with the 8-core i9 and an internal SSD.
You could add an external Samsung X5 if you need more space.
We have a new MacPro7.1 and the X5 actually has faster read times than the internal Apple SSD. Slightly slower write speed.

Jesper
__________________
Mac Pro 7,1 16-core, 96 GB, OS X.15.4, HDX 1, HD i/o 8x8x8 + HD i/o 16 digital + Metric Halo ULN 8 3D + RME Fireface 800
http://vicc.se/studio-alpha/
http://jesperelen.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-19-2020, 11:17 AM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,838
Default Re: Chossing an iMac 27" - Which one?

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Bear View Post
That's the point I'm afraid of. I presume i5 3.1GHz will be enough for me, but I guess I'm wrong.
I look for something that will serve me for a long time. Any guidelines you can give me for looking?
I saw the Avid mac specs at their site. I'm afraid to choose the low-power iMac and to see it working slowly after a year or two
The rule has always been to avoid the i5. The minimum recommendation has been an i7 which is no longer available, so the i9 should be your first choice to look at.
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-19-2020, 12:11 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,057
Default Re: Chossing an iMac 27" - Which one?

Obviously there are other differences but main factor between i3/i5 and i7/i9 is hyperthreading. If you disable HT on i7 it is basically top of the line i5

Why am I talking about this? There were certain OS/PT combinations which worked better with HT disabled. Go figure.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting a lot of "Hardware buffer underflowed (-6085)" messages w/new(er) iMac Shanegrla macOS 1 12-23-2011 10:00 AM
iMac PT LE 7.3cs1 Rack 003 Error "Not Installed or Used by Another program" gcharles 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 12-01-2010 08:24 PM
New 27" imac / "original" mbox - need some clear advice.please help !! santococo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 05-21-2010 10:30 AM
Can't open PT on new Imac -- "Required software extensions are missing" jsbeeth 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-21-2009 07:27 AM
CHOSSING THE RIGHT SCHOOL:SAE OR PROTOOLSTRAINING alion General Discussion 19 05-03-2005 12:22 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:54 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com