Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-04-2006, 09:59 PM
eric105 eric105 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
Default \"wait for note\" misses first note?

hello, i am using pro tools to record songs that i have written on a roland mc-909. since everything is already sequenced, i want to record the midi data into pro tools, and then get audio into pro tools by sending each individual midi track to a sound module and capturing the resulting audio. i also want to enter the tempo data into the ruler, and line up my midi data with the bars and beats ruler. it would make sense for me to use "wait for note" and just hit play on my sequencer, but for some reason, when the data is recorded in the edit window, the first note is missed. i feel like i had this working properly in the past, but i am not positive. any ideas on how to make this work?

eric
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-05-2006, 04:04 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: \"wait for note\" misses first note?

It's typical to include a measure of leading space in sequences on external sequencers to allow time for sync lock. Try adding a blank measure to the beginning of your sequence on the 909.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-05-2006, 07:16 PM
eric105 eric105 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: \"wait for note\" misses first note?

nope, if i put in a blank measure, it gets all the notes, but the first couple of notes come in before they are supposed to. this would be ok if i didn't want my midi notes to line up with the grid, but i feel like my $600 digi setup should be able to perform this task. is there a way for me to have pro tools start recording, and then trigger my mc-909? i just want my measures to line up.

eric
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-05-2006, 08:42 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: \"wait for note\" misses first note?

Quote:
is there a way for me to have pro tools start recording, and then trigger my mc-909?
My apologies; I thought that was what you were already doing.

Yes, there is a way. I've never done it, as I don't have the 909, but Setting up your MC-909 to be a slave device and sync to an external source is covered on page 127 of the manual.

Just make sure that Pro Tools is sending MIDI clock.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-06-2006, 11:14 AM
eric105 eric105 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: \"wait for note\" misses first note?

i am still not sure how pro-tools would tell the 909 when to start. is there a command i can save to a midi track that would start the 909 at the same time, every time? that way all my tracks will line up and the bars will line up too. since i am doing loop based music, it would be advantageous.

eric
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-06-2006, 12:02 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: \"wait for note\" misses first note?

If you sync them properly, when you press the play button in Pro Tools, the MC-909 should start just as if you pressed the play button on it, and it will play along following the session in Pro Tools. (keep in mind that I don't have the 909, and I'm just stating this from experience syncing other sequencing gear).

Perhaps you can find someone who has the 909 here, or on one of the Roland forums to help you with a tutorial.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-07-2006, 12:03 PM
eric105 eric105 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: \"wait for note\" misses first note?

yeah, i monkeyed around with it for a little while, and i got it to work by setting up midi time code from pro-tools, and slaving the 909. it lined the notes up perfectly! thanks for the advice.
now i just have to figure out how to sync the spdif so i can record digitally into protools.

eric
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-19-2006, 02:50 PM
LCD LCD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Default Re: \"wait for note\" misses first note?

Quote:
now i just have to figure out how to sync the spdif so i can record digitally into protools.

eric
I definitely want to figure that out myself.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-19-2006, 03:39 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: \"wait for note\" misses first note?

There is nothing very cryptic about it, and it is covered in the Reference Guide, Chapter 15, in a section titled "Recording From a Digital Source". The Reference Guide is available as a PDF from the Windows Start menu. That is where you will find detailed instructions for "How To".

Things to note:
  • Sample rate of all pieces involved needs to match. If your external unit is set to 48kHz, then the session you are recording to should be created at 48kHz. If 44.1kHz, then 44.1
  • There can be only one digital clock source. Most times Pro Tools is set to clock to the external unit
  • at least one of the units involved needs to be set to clock internally (obviously)
  • when connecting s/pdif, you must use a 75ohm cable, not a regular RCA cable
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wait For Note not working michaiel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-15-2010 02:00 PM
7.4 midi wait for note peaks chipper3344 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 01-12-2008 08:31 PM
Pro Tools Wait 4 note --HELP-- Motif XS 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 11-27-2007 09:18 PM
"wait for note" misses first note? eric105 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-04-2006 09:57 PM
wait note Chris Lambrechts ICON & C|24 2 11-22-2004 03:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com