Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-20-2013, 09:56 PM
GrantJensen GrantJensen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 16
Default Asio4All Red X

Today I made the investment into some proper monitors and a shiny new Mbox mini.

I have been trying to run pro tools and when the Asio4All driver starts up it shows in my task bar as a red square with a yellow exclamation point, and the audio is heavily distorted and hissy.

Any ideas?

I have a PC running Windows 8 (i7 processor, 20gb ram) running 10.3.6.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-20-2013, 10:28 PM
19 frets 19 frets is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 172
Default Re: Asio4All Red X

Just curious. Why are you using ASIO4ALL instead of running things through your Mbox Mini over to your new monitors? Wouldn't you be better off using the MBOX Mini drivers and not using ASIO4ALL?

ASIO4ALL is usually intended for systems that don't have an interface and you just want to fool the DAW into thinking your PC sound card and speakers are a valid Asio device.

Have you loaded the Mbox Mini drivers and gone into I/O setup and selected the Audio Engine for the Mbox Mini?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-20-2013, 11:20 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Asio4All Red X

Install the MBox Mini drivers. Reboot. launch PT while holding the "N" key down. Select the Mbox Mini as your hardware.

This should solve your problems. If you have the correct drivers ASIO4All should not be needed.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-20-2013, 11:23 PM
GrantJensen GrantJensen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 16
Default Re: Asio4All Red X

Asio4All is what is installed on my PC. I assumed that was the standard driver used for DAWs.

These monitors won't always be used for working on this PC, only for when I'm home and using the work station.

Would the Mbox drivers work with my stock PC soundcard when the Mbox is not connected?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-21-2013, 07:25 AM
19 frets 19 frets is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 172
Default Re: Asio4All Red X

No. Follow Sunburst's instructions. You need to use the Mbox with your monitors and ASIO4ALL when working with your PC's sound card.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-21-2013, 08:48 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Asio4All Red X

Quote:
Originally Posted by 19 frets View Post
No. Follow Sunburst's instructions. You need to use the Mbox with your monitors and ASIO4ALL when working with your PC's sound card.
This sums it up well. ASIO4ALL is for lack of a better term middleware that will let your interface work with your application. Its not meant to replace proper ASIO drivers.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-21-2013, 04:13 PM
GrantJensen GrantJensen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 16
Default Re: Asio4All Red X

Ok well,

I installed the driver and was working on a mix with no problem,

Swapped to a new session and now I cannot get audio at all.

All my I/O is the same, it showing being connected to the PC, I tried both the Mbox driver and Asio4All and still cannot get any audio from protools, or anything on my pc for that matter.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-21-2013, 05:24 PM
GrantJensen GrantJensen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 16
Default Re: Asio4All Red X

Alright, Nevermind.


While my wife was rustling around behind her chair she had unplugged and then replugged in the power bar that the monitors are on. I guess when she plugged it back in they went on a protect. I have reset the monitors and solved my problem.

Thanks guys.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will ASIO4ALL let me do this...? Dufo Windows 3 05-21-2013 11:16 PM
ASIO4ALL - Unavailable?? Wyn Windows 2 09-05-2011 06:41 AM
ASIO4ALL vs 003 monitor o/p SEPTICTHRASH Windows 2 06-18-2011 08:39 PM
TDM plugins with Asio4all Raoul23 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 05-17-2011 04:28 AM
Asio4all Aussie169 Pro Tools 9 4 11-30-2010 03:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com