Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-07-2014, 04:49 PM
melloj melloj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: England
Posts: 202
Default At my wits end!!! Digi 003 AHHHHH!

So this week I bought an old Digi 003 console, apart from a few tired faders which I'm replacing, it is (was) in a 100% working order, every single LED, button and encoder worked perfectly and it sounded great. Even getting running with PT 10 and 11 was a breeze. Not bad considering its been hammered and for what I paid for it I was happy.

Then disaster. I powered up booted PT and got a message about the session unable to run at 48kHz. Well I know about the issue, you have to have the 003 NOT selected as the primary sound card in Win 7. So I selected the realtek sound card of my computer which is the correct thing to do when running PT.

But I did it while PT was still running. Ever since then all I get is horrible distortion from the 003. including any audio from the internet or music files anything running through the 003. The thing is I've had this problem with my Mbox a few times, it happened last month with my mbox2. I had to do clean installs of drivers and Pro tools to get it working. And thats what I've been doing all day to no avail.
I've removed everything that I can find on my PC that begins with Avid or digidesign in the registry. If it doesn't work now I don't know what to do. I'm in despair and feel like bursting in to tears. The Mbox 2 works but not the 003.

Symptoms are: Distortion when audio plays through 003 however the 003 still functions perfectly with PT no lag etc. There is no audio coming out of the headphone outs at all. There is low level rumble and distortion coming from the speakers when audio is playing even though the 003 is muted, so certain parameters of the 003 are being bypassed.

In Pro tools 10 I get a message that the interlok R driver is missing or outdated, but there is no way to update this, (I've heard of other people having this issue.)

Depressed.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-08-2014, 07:19 AM
melloj melloj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: England
Posts: 202
Default Re: At my wits end!!! Digi 003 AHHHHH! [SOLVED]

Well it turns out after opening the unit the other day to replace a fader I'd snagged the wiring harness to the preamp/monitor PCB board and pulled out the connector

All good again.

So you can all calm down, go back to work whatever.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ahhhhh DrumRehab to the rescue! BradLyons Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 07-16-2009 08:39 PM
At wits end with 003+ hardware probs!!! dave_le_dave 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 07-13-2009 07:43 PM
PT keeps crashing..im at my wits end..PLEASE HELP! nfinite2006 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 01-15-2009 03:27 PM
Just about at my wits end..... RickyRae 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 11-29-2008 07:40 PM
At my wits end!! Bounce problem with LE 5.1.1 zulu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 10-28-2004 07:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com