Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-18-2001, 09:44 PM
GuidoG GuidoG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Bs As Argentina
Posts: 12
Default Dual Boot W98 + W98SE system ???

I just bought my Digi 001 and was wondering if anyone had any experience with a system having two hard drives, one with w98 1st edition and all the stuff (internet, other audio appz, Games), and the other with W98SE and just PTLE.
I wonder if this is possible and would be stable or not???
The reason I'm doing this, and not use win2000 + W98SE is because I already had a hard drive with W98 1stE and all my stuff in there, So I added a second drive to run PTLE clean with nothing else, and kept my old drive with all my stuff and also used it for PT to save the audio files.
So I get to the CMOS SETUP every time I want to change which drive to boot from and thus became "C".
My config is PIII 800Mzh 384 SDram PC133 Mother Asus CUSL2 two WD hard drives 7200RPM ATA100 one 20 GBytes and one 60 Gbytes.
Anyhow, if some one could tell me their experience on it, I'll appreciate it.

Guido.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-18-2001, 10:00 PM
sevenfold sevenfold is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Ky
Posts: 31
Default Re: Dual Boot W98 + W98SE system ???

im not 100% sure on this but i think 98 has to boot from the C: drive and wont boot from any other drive. Im not sure but if so then you wont be able to dual boot 98 and 98
__________________
Go Record
www.usewhathurts.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-18-2001, 10:33 PM
8mmOverdose 8mmOverdose is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 1,318
Default Re: Dual Boot W98 + W98SE system ???

Why dont you just upgrade your old hd to 98se, put ptle on it and use your new drive as an audio drive?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-19-2001, 06:09 AM
jamieorc jamieorc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Boston
Posts: 76
Default Re: Dual Boot W98 + W98SE system ???

"Upgrading" Windows is a drag. I don't know anyone that's had a flawless upgrade. For best results, this means saving data to another drive, doing a clean install (blowing away the old data/OS on that drive), and reinstalling the software you want. I don't know if 98 needs to be on the C drive. I've got 98SE on C and Win2k on E and it works fine. (I've even set up a common folder for my email so my email is shared between the 2 OSes.)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-19-2001, 10:51 AM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Dual Boot W98 + W98SE system ???

You can upgrade 98 to 98SE without loosing your current system and personal files. The upgrade process "overinstalls" your current version. An upgrade specifically from 98 to 98SE is available for around $20 dollars from www.bigclearance.com and is usually a troublefree operation, in spite of what you've heard. Double booting is really most useful when there is a need for two very different operating systems, such as 98 and 2000, NT or even Linux.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-19-2001, 11:44 AM
GuidoG GuidoG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Bs As Argentina
Posts: 12
Default Re: Dual Boot W98 + W98SE system ???

Thank you for your replies

Regarding de "C" issue, when I select which drive to boot from at the CMOS SETUP, that drive becomes "C", so that is not a problem, my concern is that someone told me that both Windows would eventually kill eachother, because one Windows would search for drivers and maybe find them on the other drive... I don't know.... That's why I wanted to know how much of this is true, or if anybody had tried it, how it went?
The reason I'm installing a second W98SE when I could try upgrading my original W98, is because, I wanted to have a clean install with nothing else on that OS for PTLE to work without any problems, and by the way avoiding the problems I would most likely have upgrading W98.
Any comments/experience appreciated.

Guido.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-19-2001, 12:09 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Dual Boot W98 + W98SE system ???

GuidoG,
There is a hardware alternative.
Have a look: http://store.yahoo.com/tigerdirect-com/r75-1000.html
The major advantage to this system would be that it would isolate the two boot drives. You could run into problems using the second boot drive as added storage when it's not being used as a boot.
If you went this way, I would chain a third drive for session and audio files to the boot drive used for PT.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help setting up dual boot system!!! belouder Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 09-23-2009 12:39 PM
Dual Boot System question Eric_B 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 01-28-2007 03:01 PM
How to configure HDs for a dual-boot-system??? thurston 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 08-23-2005 09:00 AM
Updating Dual Boot system?? nukmusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 05-04-2004 08:49 PM
dual boot system (98SE/XP Pro) Netinsect 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 02-27-2003 09:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com