Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 11-28-2005, 09:47 PM

Default Pro Tools Vs. Cubase or Nuendo...

I am a music tech major who has been working with Protools for about 4 years. I purchased an M-box to help learn the program on a very limited budget. Recently I have purchased a Firepod (Presonus) and have developed a definite bias in the favor of Steinberg programs. I know that pro tools is the industry standard but I feel that Steinberg's program's are more user friendly, support more midi, more easily, and cost much less than the Pro tools systems... someone help me please...? Trying to go one route or the other... soon!
Old 11-28-2005, 10:20 PM

Default Re: Pro Tools Vs. Cubase or Nuendo...

It is all taste...

Pro Tools has one type of work enviornment. Nuendo and Cubase have another type. There are a few minor features they have that Pro Tools doesn't, and there are some PT has they don't. Therefore, if one enables you to work without thinking, while another causes you major migraines, then it is pretty obvious which to go with. Sessions can be moved between all of these by an experienced user.

For an experienced Pro Tools user...well, there isnt anything you will do with Cubase or Nuendo that I (we?) cannot do with PT. If there is, it is most likely one of those minor things, and I (and numerous others) have found workarounds, or simply have no use for that feature.