Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-27-2020, 01:03 PM
notr2d2 notr2d2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Jenkintown (Outside of Philadelphia)
Posts: 98
Default Unable to control Re-Amping Volume

Hi,
when I re-amp guitars, it is very loud when recording & I'm unable to control the volume. I can control the volume after it's recorded however. I also noticed that I can still hear the amp while playing the guitar even if it's not record enabled. These changes happened after I installed the latest PT version & reset my 11 Rack. Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,
David
__________________
https://adornment.bandcamp.com/
https://andotherwonders.bandcamp.com/
http://gcsband.bandcamp.com
Mac Mini (2012)// OS 10.13.6// Eleven Rack// Pro Tools 2020.5.0
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-27-2020, 05:13 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,677
Default Re: Unable to control Re-Amping Volume

Quote:
Originally Posted by notr2d2 View Post
Hi,
when I re-amp guitars, it is very loud when recording & I'm unable to control the volume. I can control the volume after it's recorded however. I also noticed that I can still hear the amp while playing the guitar even if it's not record enabled. These changes happened after I installed the latest PT version & reset my 11 Rack. Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,
David
We really have little hope of guessing exactly what you are doing.

What exact driver version? Why did you reset the Eleven Rack?

How are you monitoring the audio? What monitors connected where?

The Eleven Rack is your audio interface or is it hanging outboard off another interface? (OK we'll assume it's the interface)

The behavior of monitoring when playing the guitar could be just having track input monitoring enabled in Pro Tools. The Pro Tools reference Guide has a good discussion of that monitoring options, easy to switch modes with accidental keyboard shortcuts. May be easier to do if track input monitoring is new to you. Look for the the "I" green "LED" on that mixer fader strip.

"unable to control the volume" is not very clear, where exactly are you trying to control the volume? The track fader where the reamp signal is returning to Pro Tools?

Sometimes, very rarely, Eleven Racks have a fault and do not obey the special internal monitoring mute that Pro Tools (alone amongst DAWs) uses. When that happens you will hear the output signal directly from the internal rig on the Main Outputs just as if playing into the Eleven Rack without Pro Tools connected--if that is happening try resetting the Eleven Rack again, if it persists your Eleven Rack may have a date with a trash can.


Why did you reset the Eleven Rack?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-27-2020, 07:19 PM
notr2d2 notr2d2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Jenkintown (Outside of Philadelphia)
Posts: 98
Default Re: Unable to control Re-Amping Volume

Thanks Daryl. I had to reset my 11R after all sound stopped on my computer. iTunes, Youtube, & PT had no sound. However, the 'Internal Speakers' still worked but not 'Avid Eleven Rack' for Output under Sound in System Preferences. The headphones also worked through the 11R. After resetting, I was able to hear again through the monitors.

I have 11R Driver 1.2.13.

I have JBL monitors connected to the 11R.

The 11R is the audio interface.

The Green LED was not enabled when I played guitar. I could still hear the amp.

I tried to control the re-amping volume on the vol track fader on the mix window.
__________________
https://adornment.bandcamp.com/
https://andotherwonders.bandcamp.com/
http://gcsband.bandcamp.com
Mac Mini (2012)// OS 10.13.6// Eleven Rack// Pro Tools 2020.5.0
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-27-2020, 07:37 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,677
Default Re: Unable to control Re-Amping Volume

Quote:
Originally Posted by notr2d2 View Post
Thanks Daryl. I had to reset my 11R after all sound stopped on my computer. iTunes, Youtube, & PT had no sound. However, the 'Internal Speakers' still worked but not 'Avid Eleven Rack' for Output under Sound in System Preferences. The headphones also worked through the 11R. After resetting, I was able to hear again through the monitors.

I have 11R Driver 1.2.13.

I have JBL monitors connected to the 11R.

The 11R is the audio interface.

The Green LED was not enabled when I played guitar. I could still hear the amp.

I tried to control the re-amping volume on the vol track fader on the mix window.
That does not sound good. Sounds like the internal monitoring mute fail. I would try doing a memory reset on the Eleven Rack. If that does not fix it try doing a new driver install. If that does not fix it try doing a clean Pro Tools install. At that point I'd suspect the Eleven Rack is just broken... that you started with a problem with the Eleven Rack may make that more probable.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-28-2020, 06:27 PM
notr2d2 notr2d2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Jenkintown (Outside of Philadelphia)
Posts: 98
Default Re: Unable to control Re-Amping Volume

Thanks Darryl for the suggestions.
__________________
https://adornment.bandcamp.com/
https://andotherwonders.bandcamp.com/
http://gcsband.bandcamp.com
Mac Mini (2012)// OS 10.13.6// Eleven Rack// Pro Tools 2020.5.0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to control volume using computer controls rpmady Pro Tools 2019 5 04-13-2020 09:02 AM
Unable to munt the volume from x:/xxxxxxx/UVI/SoundBanks/Plugsound_Avid_Edition.ufs jselor Pro Tools | First Discussion 4 07-29-2019 03:27 PM
Unable to manually type the volume & pan on the tracks! jhonnygupi Pro Tools 12 2 08-29-2015 04:15 PM
Unable to set my Glyph external HD to record volume!!! gemini06 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 07-31-2011 08:39 AM
Re-Amping: Dry Volume Setting? filosofem Eleven Rack 6 06-21-2011 09:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com