Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-27-2010, 05:21 AM
LungFish LungFish is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 2
Red face Sibelius 6 midi files to into Protools problems

Hi everyone,

I have always been able to import midi files from sibelius 5 on a PC into protools 8 LE with success.
Recently I have upgraded to a MacPro 8 core and bought sibellius 6.
When I play the midi files ( imported for sib 6) with plugins the plugin settings wont stay put and always revert back to some weird default setting. eg I select play the piano plays using the midi track, I turn the piano down and when I stop the track the volume resets to where it was before I altered it.
I tried importing midi that I created on sibelius 5 a while ago and this problem did not occur so Im guessing it's something to do with the way I am exporting the midi files in sibelius 6 or the way protools is responding to sibelius 6 files but unfortunatley I have not been able to rectify the problem as of yet.
Any advice would be appreciated.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-27-2010, 09:25 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,762
Default Re: Sibelius 6 midi files to into Protools problems

It sounds as if there's MIDI volume data in the MIDI region. You should open up the Event Viewer and look for volume messages, then delete them.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-28-2010, 12:36 AM
LungFish LungFish is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 2
Talking Re: Sibelius 6 midi files to into Protools problems

Perfect it worked straight away no problems.

Thanks for that.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-28-2010, 01:54 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,762
Default Re: Sibelius 6 midi files to into Protools problems

Cool - glad it was an easy fix!
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-28-2010, 02:41 PM
strangeLoop strangeLoop is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Greater Los Angeles Area
Posts: 184
Default Re: Sibelius 6 midi files to into Protools problems

When ever I import MIDI from Sibelius 6 into ProTools 8, I have to go thru each track and delete all of the MIDI volume and controller data.
I hope that at some point ProTools will be able to directly import a Sibelius session. Then you will have a choice if you don't want that data to come with the MIDI notes. Also with a direct import you would get tempo and marker information.
__________________
MacPro 4,1 Quad-Core Nehalem, 24GB Ram, OS X El Capitan, 003 Rack, PT Version 2018, All the Air Virtual Instruments.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-03-2010, 06:25 AM
dsmusicstore dsmusicstore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: monmouth
Posts: 1
Smile Re: Sibelius 6 midi files to into Protools problems

It sounds as if there's MIDI volume data in the MIDI region. You should open up the Event Viewer and look for volume messages, then delete them.

I agree with this answer it helped me out loads!!

Last edited by DigiTechSupt; 08-03-2010 at 10:29 AM. Reason: Commercial ads are not allowed.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Imported Sibelius MIDI Files in Pro Tools 10, not playing back Eric.Yeung Windows 2 06-07-2012 04:34 AM
Problems Reading Imported MIDI (Sibelius) janos Pro Tools 10 2 01-13-2012 02:30 PM
Problems with MIDI in 002R since I installed Sibelius 6.2 Chris7514 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-04-2010 09:56 AM
Problems with MIDI I/O of 002R while running Sibelius 6.2 Chris7514 MIDI 0 12-03-2010 11:45 AM
Converting Vision files to ProTools or general midi files!!! Paata 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-17-2008 01:11 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:04 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com