Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools SE and Essential (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-19-2010, 08:04 PM
GaijinMan Japan GaijinMan Japan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Japan
Posts: 1
Default Pro-Tools M-Powered Essentials

Alright, I need help! Just picked up a IMac this weekend for my pro-tools.
Purchased the package from B&H. Came with the monitors and Producer WUB MIC. Awsome!! Not too awsome because I can't get my pro-tools to install.
My IMac is a MAC OSX 10.6.3, plenty of memory and RAM! Tried everything but it keeps giving me this error message "Error while installing. Contact the system admin" not sure what it is. Living in Japan it makes it hard to contact the state side for trouble shoots. The pro-tools icon will show up in my dock but will not launch. Redirects me to some site "Pace" or something like that...Anyway, didn't do a thing. What can I do to fix this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-28-2010, 08:23 AM
gusax gusax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1
Default Re: Pro-Tools M-Powered Essentials

Hi,
I had the same problem with my macbook pro running OSX 10.6.4. I got the recurring PACE error aswell and installed the PACE software and it made not difference. I discovered because I was using Pro Tools M-Powered Essentials, I needed the Pro Tools Essentials M-Powered 8.0.3 update not the Pro Tools M-Powered 8.0.4 update.
1. First you need to download and install the latest drivers for Mac for your hardware and restart your imac
2. Then you need to install Pro Tools don't start it, then download and install the 8.0.4 update for pro tools found here, you will need Pro tools Essentials 8.0.3 update if you have Pro Tools Essentials as the 8.0.4 update will not work I have tried this already:

http://avid.custkb.com/avid/app/self...p?DocId=364971

3. Restart your imac after you have installed the update
4. Then when imac is restarted, start pro tools, you should either have pro tools open up and run as normal or get an error message.
5. If you get and error message copy it and paste it into a document and email it to support so they can help you.

I am going through a similar process myself. I have got to the stage of now getting pro tools to start but getting massive error messages I am emailing to support. As far as I can tell Pro Tools is running on OSX up to 10.6.2 now and support for higher versions of OSX beyond 10.6.2 is coming as I understand it usually if Pro tools runs on OSX 10.6.2 it can run on higher versions of OSX as it seems the main part of it working is the OSX 10.6 part not the 10.6.2, meaning the third digit in the OSX version does not seem to matter.

Last edited by gusax; 10-28-2010 at 08:26 AM. Reason: add more info
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools M-Powered Essentials 8.0.3 Surferdude Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 3 11-06-2013 10:51 AM
Please Help on Pro tools M powered Essentials Ronnie 197 General Discussion 3 04-11-2012 07:40 AM
mobile pre with pro tools m powered essentials?? bobdagod Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 5 01-22-2011 10:15 AM
Pro Tools M-Powered Essentials 8 - Need help! Freddy's Bar Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 9 08-31-2010 10:22 AM
Please Help on Pro tools M powered Essentials!! Ronnie 197 Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 1 08-01-2010 12:18 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com