Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-28-2018, 10:45 AM
Suddenly Clear Suddenly Clear is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 76
Default Notes beyond the clip

From time to time, I get this annoying problem in which Pro Tools puts notes outside of the clip. It happens when pasting. The only way I know of resolving it is deleting all the clip copies on that track and duplicating. However, this isn't always practical.

See the violet clip:



Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Notes beyond the clip.JPG (40.3 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-28-2018, 11:00 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,247
Default Re: Notes beyond the clip

Ah yes this is the old “rounding problem”. If you zoom right in you’ll probably find the notes are just about in the clip, even if you’ve quantised the bejesus out of them. Why? Who knows...

It can happen the other way round as well of course, where notes are missing at the start of the clip, because they’re considered part of the clip that came before. Frustrating beyond belief.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-28-2018, 11:29 AM
Suddenly Clear Suddenly Clear is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 76
Default Re: Notes beyond the clip

Thanks, midnightrambler, for confirming it's not me!

The notes shouldn't be there at all. They appear to be the start of another copy that I haven't created. I can't believe this has never been dealt with.

I'm also getting this shaded area at the join. Unless it's there for a reason, this one is purely a visual error:

Attached Images
File Type: jpg Shaded Clip.JPG (12.5 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-28-2018, 12:05 PM
Carl Lie Carl Lie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,034
Default Re: Notes beyond the clip

Curious what version you're on. I haven't seen this in a while. Perhaps I've been lucky.

C
__________________
PT 2018.7 HDX OMNI+HDX8x16 -Mac Pro 12 Cores 48 GB RAM OS 10.12.5 - API 16 channel - AMS Neve 16 channel, AMS-Neve-SSL-GML -Pres/Processing, Bock Audio, BLUE Bottle, Neumann, Josephson -Mics, Bogner, Kemper- Guitar, Chandler Zener-Curve Bender Outboard/Master. UAudio, Waves, Plugin Alliance etc.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-28-2018, 12:53 PM
Suddenly Clear Suddenly Clear is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 76
Default Re: Notes beyond the clip

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Lie View Post
Curious what version you're on. I haven't seen this in a while. Perhaps I've been lucky.

C
Pro Tools (standard version) 2018.10 now. I had the problem in 2018.7. Windows 10 Home.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-28-2018, 02:09 PM
Suddenly Clear Suddenly Clear is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 76
Default Re: Notes beyond the clip

In case anyone struggles with this. The best workaround I've found, which most minimizes the risk of damage, is to consolidate every clip on the affected track and then separate them as desired. I had four tracks with this problem.

I wish Avid would get this fixed. It's been an intermittent problem ever since I started using Pro Tools. It isn't right that an expensive DAW which purports to be the industry standard and the professional choice, has such embarrassing and time-consuming errors.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-28-2018, 03:02 PM
innesireinar innesireinar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 644
Default Re: Notes beyond the clip

It's an orrible bug that appeared since PT12 while PT11 is free from this. Sample rounding is an old issue but while in the past affected only audio material, since PT12 affects midi material as well. This causes double notes when clips overlaps themselves or sometimes it eats some notes. Terrible. I went back to PT11 because of this. Opened an asc about this but they don't know when and if this will be fixed. It prevents to work with midi clips. For those like me who works with dance and pop working without midi clips is impossible. I will not renew the plan because of this.
__________________
Avid HDX - PTHD 11.3.2 on OSX 10.10.5 - PT Ultimate 2019.6 on OSX 10.13.6 (II partition) - Cubase Pro 10 - Avid HD I/O 16x16 analog
Mac Pro 5.1 quadcore 2.8 16GB Ram
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-28-2018, 03:08 PM
innesireinar innesireinar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 644
Default Re: Notes beyond the clip

Quote:
Originally Posted by Suddenly Clear View Post
In case anyone struggles with this. The best workaround I've found, which most minimizes the risk of damage, is to consolidate every clip on the affected track and then separate them as desired. I had four tracks with this problem.

I wish Avid would get this fixed. It's been an intermittent problem ever since I started using Pro Tools. It isn't right that an expensive DAW which purports to be the industry standard and the professional choice, has such embarrassing and time-consuming errors.
It happens when samples and ticks do not match. If you work at 48khz at 120 bpm this doesn't happen. But while it could make sense when working with audio material I don't understand why it happens also on midi material since PT12. Terrible
__________________
Avid HDX - PTHD 11.3.2 on OSX 10.10.5 - PT Ultimate 2019.6 on OSX 10.13.6 (II partition) - Cubase Pro 10 - Avid HD I/O 16x16 analog
Mac Pro 5.1 quadcore 2.8 16GB Ram
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-29-2018, 02:58 PM
Evermore Evermore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: US
Posts: 47
Default Re: Notes beyond the clip

Hi everyone,

I'm also experiencing this, and I wonder if it's the same thing that is affecting copying/pasting clips and being off the grid by a few samples?

I have never had to worry or double check if my regions/clips(Audio&Midi) are on Grid when copying and pasting. This is very frustrating and it has become a workflow killer for me within Pro Tools. Cubase and Logic worked perfect in this area regardless of what sample rate I worked in.

I've seen others on the forum experience this issue, so this is definitely something Avid needs to fix, IMHO.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-30-2018, 07:06 AM
ZEUSS ZEUSS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 540
Default Re: Notes beyond the clip

Quote:
Originally Posted by Suddenly Clear View Post
In case anyone struggles with this. The best workaround I've found, which most minimizes the risk of damage, is to consolidate every clip on the affected track and then separate them as desired. I had four tracks with this problem.

I wish Avid would get this fixed. It's been an intermittent problem ever since I started using Pro Tools. It isn't right that an expensive DAW which purports to be the industry standard and the professional choice, has such embarrassing and time-consuming errors.
I am working on a session thats primarily midi based right now. THIS is the workaround. Also there is still the bug where you can't delete the note in note view or in the midi editor but its random! I also still see where you duplicate a note by option dragging, it will delete the note your are copying from after the drag and drop. But this one is the worst. Especially when in clip view and you are doing an arrangement. It will not take certain notes when moving the midi clips. Play back in front of the client after a quick move.......Client says "Where is the sound?"

These bugs have been around for YEARS! its embarrassing in front of clients. You look like the fool.... Its not a plugin, its not the system. Its ProTools.
__________________
10.12.6 Mac Pro 2013 (Trashcan) 6 Core 64 gigs Ram, Red Line 16, Native Thunderbolt, ProTools HD 2019.5
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
midi notes disappearing when moving to clip boundary santoorman Pro Tools 2018 6 07-26-2018 01:21 PM
MIDI notes still there after separating and deleting part of clip SigFriedChicken Pro Tools 12 12 12-09-2017 08:22 AM
MIDI notes exist outside of a clip!? 12.8.2 midnightrambler Pro Tools 12 13 11-28-2017 08:33 AM
MIDI Editor should hide notes note in clip melino Pro Tools 10 0 06-30-2012 02:36 PM
How to convert midi notes to a clip? MarkH Pro Tools 10 6 12-29-2011 05:23 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:56 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com