Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Old 06-10-2007, 08:19 PM

Default MIDI playback problem

Hi everybody,
I'm very new to Mbox2 and Pro Tools and i want to ask something that may look funny to you all but i really don't know what i'm doing wrong.I create an instrument track, i set ins and outs as shown in the tutorials and record using the Xpand.Everything seems to be recorded OK but when i play the track i recorded its totally out of time.I hear half the notes i recorded and even these are out of time.What could be set wrong here ? I'm very happy with my Mbox2 and all the bundled software and this is the only problem that i faced.I'm using version 7.3 cs3 on a laptop pc (HP 9393) and with an M-AUDIO Keystation midi keyboard.The keyboard is connected via USB on my laptop.Thank you for reading... See you...
Old 06-10-2007, 08:39 PM

Default Re: MIDI playback problem

Any audio along side the MIDI data? Try calculating the latency induced and enter this into 'MIDI Track Offsets'. How and what, are in the Reference Guide under 'MIDI Track Offsets'.

filosofem
Old 06-11-2007, 02:14 AM

What makes you thing that this is a latency problem? Is it sth that can be fixed or not? I will check everything where you told me and see what i can do.Thank you very,very much for answering so fast...See you...
Old 06-11-2007, 02:23 AM

If you have a printed audio track beside a MIDI track played back together the MIDI track would seem to be dragging behind (latency), to counter this, you Offset it, so they playback in tandem (in sync).

However, this may not be the case at all.

filosofem
Old 06-11-2007, 06:43 AM