Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-07-2004, 05:05 PM
SAmmyZ SAmmyZ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5
Default FireWire Drive troubles for PTLE

So, I've spent quite a while trying to figure how to make this thing work out well and it's been nothing but frustrating. First off, I had a Maxtor one touch combo drive (USB2.0/FW) and it didn't work I'm guessing because of the Oxford 911 bridge absence. Now, I have a Seagate Barracuda 160gb, 8mb, 7200.7rpm...all the good jazz, placed it in an OWC enclosure with the Oxford 911 bridge. I formatted first as a Mac drive and tried using Macdrive to make it happen and while the drive was able to be read, you couldn't record or get playback from it. Now, I've partitioned the sucker into two halves, it's formatted NTFS, and I still get the buffer errors regardless of the settings in "playback engine" . Oh yeah, the hard drive is still in "Basic" mode...I'm aggravated. Anyone ever seen something like this and fixed it? Any help would seriously make my day. -z
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-07-2004, 05:17 PM
SAmmyZ SAmmyZ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5
Default Re: FireWire Drive troubles for PTLE

Oh yes, and I have the 002r, a Dell inspiron laptop, adaptec Fireconnect card, and XP. -z
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-07-2004, 05:26 PM
Infa Infa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Francisco, CA. U.S.A.
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: FireWire Drive troubles for PTLE

You are posting in the MAC section. If you post in the WINDOWS section you may get more help..

P.S. - But check to make sure your drive is formatted to the Digi recommended formatting for the computer set up you exactly have.. THEN also go to "workspace" and make sure your drive is set up correctly for playback and record, etc...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-07-2004, 05:29 PM
SAmmyZ SAmmyZ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5
Default Re: FireWire Drive troubles for PTLE

Yeah...that probably would help wouldn't it. What a day. Thanks anyhow. -z
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-10-2004, 03:03 PM
soggyelbow soggyelbow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 11
Default Re: FireWire Drive troubles for PTLE

I assume from previous comments that you are on the Windows platform. Nevertheless, if it's any consolation, I've had the same problem with my Mac G5 and to this day haven't been able to get the FireWire drives to playback or record. I just added an additional internal drive and that solved the problem. I use the FW drives for storage only and they're fine for that.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-10-2004, 06:30 PM
mbabella mbabella is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1
Default Re: FireWire Drive troubles for PTLE

Have you ever lost audio files after transferring the session folder to a firewire external hard drive? We copied session folders onto an external hard drive and now many of the audio files are nowhere to be found on the external OR internal hard drive on a G4 with OS 10.3. We cannot figure out what happened! They have completely disappeared from both places!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving PTLE files from Mac formatted firewire drive to PC howie b 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 12-24-2009 08:15 AM
FireWire Drive troubles for 002r SAmmyZ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-07-2004 06:17 PM
Can someone recommend a firewire drive PTLE/Mbox? musicsage 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 12-08-2003 10:16 AM
ProblemsTransfering TDM to PTLE via Firewire Drive Ronnisi Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 09-04-2003 12:37 PM
Results using a firewire hard drive with PTLE XP Jayman#9 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 15 09-25-2002 12:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com