Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-28-2018, 07:55 AM
Zergei72 Zergei72 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Salo, Finland
Posts: 28
Default DIGI001 / Presonus FIRESTUDIO project SYNCing

Is it possible to sync these devices, so I could use all analog ins on both of them ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-28-2018, 07:17 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,464
Default Re: DIGI001 / Presonus FIRESTUDIO project SYNCing

Yes, provided a few things are in place:
#1-the DIGI001 is fully functional and connected to the PCI card in the computer? I assume you have an older computer and are running Pro Tools LE6.4 or older?
#2-You have connected the firestudio to the computer and have assigned the 8 preamps to feed the lightpipe outputs(this requires some software from Presonus to make this routing)

#3-you set the sample rate of the firestudio to the same sample rate of your pro tools session(44.1 or 48K)
#4-with pro tools open, go to Setup>Hardware and set the clock source to ADAT(or Optical).
__________________
HP z820 12 core, 64GB RAM, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs, Warm Audio and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-29-2018, 03:28 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 2,925
Default Re: DIGI001 / Presonus FIRESTUDIO project SYNCing

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Yes, provided a few things are in place:
#1-the DIGI001 is fully functional and connected to the PCI card in the computer? I assume you have an older computer and are running Pro Tools LE6.4 or older?
#2-You have connected the firestudio to the computer and have assigned the 8 preamps to feed the lightpipe outputs(this requires some software from Presonus to make this routing)

#3-you set the sample rate of the firestudio to the same sample rate of your pro tools session(44.1 or 48K)
#4-with pro tools open, go to Setup>Hardware and set the clock source to ADAT(or Optical).

The problem is; The Firestudio Project doesn't have optical connections, as far as I can see. So that leaves you with SP/DIF and only two channels.
__________________
Signature...? – I think my face and full name is more than enough.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-29-2018, 06:29 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,464
Default Re: DIGI001 / Presonus FIRESTUDIO project SYNCing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
The problem is; The Firestudio Project doesn't have optical connections, as far as I can see. So that leaves you with SP/DIF and only two channels.
Aha....I had the firestudio(non-"project" version). So, new options:
#1-upgrade to Pro Tools 9 or newer and try the Firestudio as your interface(dump the 001 as it has no value these days)
#2-Keep the 001 with your antique computer and trade the firestudio for an 8-channel lightpipe preamp(Behringer ADA8200 being a great value at under $200).
__________________
HP z820 12 core, 64GB RAM, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs, Warm Audio and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 9 & Presonus FireStudio Project longiron07 Pro Tools Software (Win) 9 03-12-2012 07:14 AM
Pro Tools 9 and Presonus FireStudio Project victorprotools9 Pro Tools 9 9 09-18-2011 08:56 AM
Pro Tools 9 I/O with Presonus Firestudio Project Mr. Dexter Ward Third Party Interfaces 3 09-10-2011 07:32 AM
Presonus Firestudio Project + Digi003 rack+ DanRock Pro Tools Software (Win) 1 01-16-2011 11:39 AM
Digi 002 with presonus firestudio project? Joevr4 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-04-2010 12:41 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com