Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-19-2019, 02:24 PM
bonzerboy bonzerboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 503
Default anyone use IK master match ?

I have not used it yet but trying to understand is it like a brick wall or limiter? Supposes to use stand alone or in a DAW.. it says use in the final part of your chain? I thought it was used a solo plug in? DO you use it with other plug ins or by it self?
__________________
Wow am I groovy or what
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-20-2019, 03:09 AM
clausiii's Avatar
clausiii clausiii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 1,779
Default Re: anyone use IK master match ?

it´s a kind of EQ matching plugin. Choose a source, MM will analyse it and puts its "signature" onto the file you wish to sound like the source.
__________________
My ears! My ears!
clausiii
-----------------
MacBook Pro i7 Quad 2.6GHz 8GB RAM
ProTools 2018.12
Digidesign Command|8
macOS Mojave
MOTU 4pre
MOTU Track16
Axiom Pro 25
LinnStrument 128
Roli Seaboard Block

tons of stomp boxes
tube amps
guitars
noise
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-20-2019, 08:44 AM
bonzerboy bonzerboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 503
Default Re: anyone use IK master match ?

I get it,, so it is more of really a reference tool not so much a mastering tool
__________________
Wow am I groovy or what
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-20-2019, 09:31 AM
Peter - IK Multimedia's Avatar
Peter - IK Multimedia Peter - IK Multimedia is offline
IK Multimedia
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 449
Default Re: anyone use IK master match ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonzerboy View Post
I get it,, so it is more of really a reference tool not so much a mastering tool
It uses reference tracks to create and apply a match for the source/reference. You can also match the curve with your own choice of plugins if you wish. The steps to use Master Match are covered in this video: https://youtu.be/uvggfgO9ixs

Edit: This video also covers using Master Match to hone your skills by replicating the changes it creates using your choice of plugins: https://youtu.be/72w5FqUJPz4

From the latter video description:
Quote:
Additionally, the Master Match can provide its magic either by being used as a fully automatic processor, or alternatively it can be used as your personal audio engineer assistant, since you can look at the suggestion it gives, and then you the have freedom to apply those by yourself using the T-RackS 5 tools you prefer. In this way, Master Match can also become an invaluable tool that will help you improve your mixing and mastering skills.
__________________
IK Multimedia - http://www.ikmultimedia.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-20-2019, 01:12 PM
bonzerboy bonzerboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 503
Default Re: anyone use IK master match ?

Thanks,, for the information
__________________
Wow am I groovy or what
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-06-2019, 02:19 AM
simon.a.billington simon.a.billington is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 708
Default Re: anyone use IK master match ?

I use it as kind of a research tool. Generally, to understand the tonality of the song I’m mixing and the reference tracks I’m interested in. It’ll of course tell us what the difference is. Then I’ll use that information to help me to quickly target specific frequency bands.

It’s other purpose is like a “second opinion” so I’ll refer to it if I’m in need of another perspective.

I think it’s a great tool though. I only just wish it’s additional eq band facility was a bit better implemented.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Match Duration doesn't really match duration simonchase Pro Tools Software (Mac) 1 05-31-2011 02:47 PM
Match Tracks Feature doesn't match tracks...... Ryan Butler Pro Tools 9 0 02-26-2011 11:14 AM
How do I match tempo of rex2 loop to master tempo siuberto Socarras 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 11-27-2010 11:23 AM
MASTER FADERS METERS DONT MATCH mobilelab Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 02-08-2005 05:15 PM
Master inserts are post-fader? Was: L1+ on Master = clipping s2n Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 11-20-2001 07:41 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com