Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-27-2003, 01:38 AM
acceton acceton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: belgium
Posts: 40
Default mbox with g3/osx versus os9

hello,
i have an imac g3/500mhz. i'm using protools free and i'm planning to upgrade to an mbox.
what can i expect of the performance on my system (how many stable tracks,no heavy reverb plugs,...)under os 9? can i run a stable osx and protools combination and do you have tips to make this work? my goal is to run 14 tracks with 1 reverb and some compression and delay/chorus plugs. I'm also planning to buy an external lacie firewire drive.is this a good buy? One final question:i noticed that the Le range of hardware doesn't have word clock in/out,can it derive the word clock from the digital spdifs or is no clocking possible? i know,lots of questions,any help is appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-27-2003, 06:05 AM
Rock_Artist Rock_Artist is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Hertzliya
Posts: 1,482
Default Re: mbox with g3/osx versus os9

Clocking: Yes! You can get External clock from the digital interfaces (SPDIF / ADAT depends on hardware).

System: Again, depends on your machine.
G3 500Mhz ? Powerbook / Ibook / B&W ?

The Ibook should do fine with PT6 but you'd get abit less than your needs.

I've tested PT6 with my Powerbook G3 300.
Just back to OS9 [img]images/icons/frown.gif[/img] .
System couldn't handle it well. everything was slow and sluggish.

No matter which way - OS 9 would provide better performance for G3s.

You should get about 9-11 tracks on the DaveC with 500Mhz/OS9.

That's sure enough for 14tk/1dverb some plugs.
__________________
Just wanna do music,
RA.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-27-2003, 05:04 PM
J. Guerrero J. Guerrero is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Veracruz, Ver., México
Posts: 485
Default Re: mbox with g3/osx versus os9

OSX has the same (sometimes better because of the new features) performance than OS 9. The graphic interface in OSX is at times choppy, but again, the performance and stability in my system is great and I got rid of OS 9 not too long after I got my PT6 upgrade.
I use an iBook 500Mhz with 384MB in RAM... you can definately achieve those 14 tracks with a G3 system, Mbox and OSX. Just get at least 256MB of RAM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox 2 pro versus buffer errors on older USB Mbox? musicsup 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 12-05-2006 02:20 PM
mbox 2 pro versus buffer errors on older USB Mbox? musicsup 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-30-2006 07:55 AM
Digi001 versus Mbox Richard Warren 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 10-03-2003 11:52 PM
tell me about latency- mbox versus 002?? reggie007 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-01-2003 11:22 PM
Mbox+powerbook G4 versus Mbox+ibook mouthdrummer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 03-15-2002 12:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com