Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-18-2020, 03:11 PM
unclevinky unclevinky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5
Default Protools 2018.12 won't launch

Hi ..hope someone here can help

Mac Pro late 2013 HIgh Sierra 10.13.6

Protools 2018.12

every time I try and boot I get "The application Protools has quit unexpectedly"

been trying for 2 days...trashed prefs so now there are none to trash
created a new user logged in and tried that didn't work.

I've been using PT for 23 years never had this problem...anyone have any ideas?

Thank you in advance!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-19-2020, 04:58 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,293
Default Re: Protools 2018.12 won't launch

Is that a clean install of 10.13.6 or upgrade over upgrade?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-19-2020, 10:53 AM
unclevinky unclevinky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5
Default Re: Protools 2018.12 won't launch

Its an upgrade from 10.13.3 to 10.13.6...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-21-2020, 02:40 PM
unclevinky unclevinky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5
Default Re: Protools 2018.12 won't launch

Im not sure if anyone from avid checks this thing.....But Ive had this problem and been unable to use my main system since monday..Im still waiting on Avid tech support to get back to me. The first person I spoke to didnt resolve the problem. I have 2 licences, an Ultimate and regular protools...I pay 500 dollars a year for support, and the one time I need it I cant get it. What the hell?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-26-2020, 04:31 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,921
Default Re: Protools 2018.12 won't launch

Trashing prefs is step #1 for odd behavior(and this sounds odd to me). In fact, I would uninstall Pro Tools(and prefs) and reinstall You will need to reset your preferences, but you need to try that anyway(somewhere on the DUC, you should be able to find a link to the Pete Gates utility for Mac users) I would also double-check the compatibility chart(see Help Us Help You near the top) and make sure you are running the correct version of PT for your version of OS.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 2018.10 (or .12) suddenly won't launch Scott Stillwell Pro Tools 2018 5 12-14-2018 01:38 PM
ProTools 2018.4 won't launch planck Pro Tools 2018 6 08-27-2018 05:54 AM
2018.4 crashing on launch all of the sudden Dax Productions Pro Tools 2018 3 06-13-2018 09:26 AM
2018.3 won't launch. Worked fine yesterday DontLetMeDrown Pro Tools 2018 0 03-26-2018 07:36 PM
Protools 2018.3 Crashes at Launch David Feingold Pro Tools 2018 1 03-20-2018 03:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com