Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-21-2011, 03:44 PM
SteveC7 SteveC7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Parkesburg, PA
Posts: 8
Default New MBox2/PTLE 7.3.1 user - 7.4 upgrade question

Hi all,
First post here...

I recently purchased a used MBox2 w/ PTLE 7.3.1 from a coworker. My coworker also purchased a paid upgrade to PTLE 7.4 at that time back in 2008, but only downloaded the Mac version since that's what he was using. I already have PTLE 7.3.1 up and running but would like to download the Windows version of the 7.4 upgrade as well since I don't have a Mac. Plus, PTLE 7.3.1 won't run on my Vista partition so I have no "real" interface to use for any of my audio apps there.

I have a copy of the PTLE 7.4 upgrade confirmation email, as well as the Authorization code. But what I can't seem to figure out is how to access the full download itself - I can only see the "cs" udates. Any ideas?


Thanks
SteveC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-24-2011, 12:59 PM
SteveC7 SteveC7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Parkesburg, PA
Posts: 8
Default Re: New MBox2/PTLE 7.3.1 user - 7.4 upgrade question

Well... I was able to resolve this the old-fashioned way - my coworker found his Avid login and password in order to access the full Windows 7.4 download.

I had a @#$% of a time trying to get it installed on Vista though... I kept getting a "Microsoft Register Server has stopped working" error when the installer reached the point where the drivers were being installed. I must have uninstalled/reinstalled/repaired about 10 times, with varying combinations of Run as Admin and XP Compatibility mode, but just couldn't get the installer to finish and register everything.

I finally located a post on these boards suggesting to change the default DEP setting - not just adding regsvr.exe to the exclude list - and that did the trick! Well, almost... I had to manually update the MBOX2 audio drivers after the fact since PTLE couldn't find any hardware device. But now I'm finally up and running, and have a real interface to use on my Vista partition.

Now comes the easy part - learning PTLE...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Potential PTLE user with a question: Krobar Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 11 08-17-2009 11:35 AM
Upgrade question - can I use mbox2 micro upgrade on 002 system? spreston 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-22-2009 12:22 PM
Pleese answer s/pidf question for mbox2 user lostwaveproductions 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-20-2008 09:26 PM
Very simple question from non-techie Mbox2 user SessionSinger 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 02-05-2007 02:49 AM
Mbox2 and my PTLE 7.0 upgrade??? casperfun 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 11-10-2005 01:24 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:34 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com