Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S6

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #121  
Old 10-16-2020, 01:29 PM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,155
Default 6 Ways: Panning

[PANNING]

Let's take a closer look at several different ways to display Pan data on the console.

(1) Channel Strip - in line - 4 encoders, paging required
(2) Expand mode - borrowing all of the encoders on the Knob Module
(3) Expand Faders - user assignable map for Pan parameters (up to 2 pages)
(4) Master Module - dedicated Multi-Touch view (2D or 3D)
(5) Attention Knob Zone - if not default function - touch MTM, touch the zone
(6) Joystick Module, dual joysticks which are populated on Attention

Panning 6 Ways


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #122  
Old 10-19-2020, 07:30 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,155
Default 3 Ways: Bank & Justify

[BANK & JUSTIFY]

To quickly bring up any track from your session onto the desk and place it in a predictable location:

From Settings > User, first determine the orientation you want for the Banking Justification Mode. This can be set as absolute Left, absolute Right or Left or Right relative to the location of the Master Module.

Next, make sure in Pro Tools under Setup > Preferences > Mixing > "Scroll to Tracks" Banks Controllers is ticked.

(1) Use Shift + Control while clicking on a track from either the Edit or Mix Windows in Pro Tools.

(2) Press the Soft Key Scroll to Track which can be found in the Extras page of the Automation Module (Right) while in the default view. After pressing, simply start typing to find the appropriate track then hit enter.

(3) Use the keyboard shortcut Command + Option + F from Pro Tools to perform the same operation.


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #123  
Old 10-21-2020, 04:09 PM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,155
Default Automation: Snapshots in Preview + Glide

[AUTOMATION: SNAPSHOT CREATION IN PREVIEW]

Let's take a closer look at a few Advanced Automation concepts on the S4, specifically Automation Preview, Snapshots and Glide to All Enabled.

Preview allows tracks and parameters that are automation enabled - and in a writeable automation mode (Touch, Latch, Write, etc) to be isolated by simply touching a touch-sensitive encoder, fader or touchscreen parameter. While Preview is engaged, it is possible to create treatments of all automatable parameters - including Volume, Sends, Pan, EQ, etc. and store them into a snapshot buffer using a combination of Capture -> then Save Snapshot. Once the snapshots have been saved, they can easily be recalled using Punch Capture. To nondestructively recall one, simply first enable Preview mode which allows you to test out the treatment before writing a single automation breakpoint.

Advanced Automation: Snapshots in Preview


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #124  
Old 10-22-2020, 12:16 PM
johnmichaelcaldwell johnmichaelcaldwell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1
Default Re: Expand Fader Mapping: Altiverb

Hi Jeff, thanks for this explanation. I'm having trouble getting the Expand Faders to actually map. It's explained simply enough and I've also watched your video that was posted as well. I'm able to get into the mapping mode, plugin parameters are expanded on the knob module and faders are down and ready to be assigned and the expand button is blinking blue - but when I touch a knob it doesn't blink and wait to be assigned...

This must be something really easy I'm missing but I'm just not getting it to work.
Reply With Quote
  #125  
Old 10-23-2020, 01:28 PM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,155
Default Creative Reprogramming of Transport Soft Keys

[REPROGRAMMING TRANSPORT SOFT KEYS]

Let's take a look at a simple example of repurposing some of the switches on the Transport section of S4/S6 to control and modify selections in Pro Tools.

Touch Soft Keys from the top of the Master Module, then touch on the pop-up and specifically choose Automation Module Transport to access those switches.

I've chosen to repurpose the R MODE, LOC and BACK switches, but you can decide which switches you don't use very frequently and modify those.

Touch a switch like LOC on the Master Module -> then below, touch the EUCON block function and then Delete. Now right near where you touched the EUCON block, touch Add -> then EUCON down below -> then scroll through the list on the left and find Edit Menu > Restore Last Selection. Touch Done.

You've now successfully reprogrammed the LOC switch to trigger Restore Last Selection in Pro Tools. Repeat these steps for any other functions you want to modify.

Reprogramming Transport Soft Keys

Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #126  
Old 10-27-2020, 08:50 PM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,155
Default Managing Multiple Workstations

[MANAGING MULTIPLE WORKSTATIONS]

Let's take a closer look at working with and managing multiple workstations on the S4 or S6 consoles. A few basics to begin...

Under Settings > Strips > optionally enable Show track Number or at least Show Workstation Number to append the Workstation # to the scribble strip on the console when working with multiple source machines or recorders. The Track & WS number preferences will also be displayed on the Display Module and on the upper left hand corner or each track block on the Tracks page or Home Page.

Under Settings > User > Soft Keys > enable Auto Close Surface Recall Soft Keys if after pressing a soft key for a WS number or Track Layout you want to close that page and jump back to - for example your default Automation 1 view. Under System Soft Key Display Mode - you get to pick which of the 4 soft key panels on the Master and Automation Modules you want to eat up for viewing Workstations, Layouts and the like.

Use the All switch located on the Master Module - then press a function view (Pan, Dyn, EQ, etc.) to change all strips on all workstations to that particular view.

As always, whenever you have Zones opened up on the console, take advantage of the User 1 and User 2 (track color) switches at the bottom of the Faders to bank within the Spill Zone.

Use WS to access Workstation selection and switching on the Soft Keys and Shift + WS to access the same functions on the Master Module touchscreen.

Open up a Spill Zone with L Spill or R Spill and then simply press WS -> then touch a WS Soft Key to dump all of the tracks from the selected Workstation into that zone. Again, Banking is efficient using User 1 or User 2 switches.

To access Multi-WS Soft Keys - hold Shift from any Fader Module - then press 3 on the numpad of the Automation Module. All of the functions within the Auto 1- 4 pages will be applied to all active Workstations including automation modes, preview, write to's, automatch and more.

While creating a Track Layout -> simply switch Workstations to refresh the Tracks page then select blocks from the active workstation. Flip back and forth until you get all the tracks you need, then Store the aggregate layout.

Managing Multiple Workstations


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #127  
Old 10-31-2020, 12:47 PM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,155
Default Mapping Parameters for Slapper 2: Expand Faders & Joystick

[MAPPING SLAPPER 2 FADERS & JOYSTICKS]

Let's take a closer look at creative mapping of parameters for Cargo Cult's excellent Slapper 2 delay with both Expand Faders and the custom mapping mode on the Joystick Module.

To start, Attention the track you want to work with - and also Focus it if you are using an S4 system. We've chosen Ins from the function switches then pressed to dive in to see the parameters of Slapper 2 in Insert Parameters view (Teal). Press Expand to allocate the entire knob module to see parameters for this plug-in. Cargo Cult has excellent pagetables to logically present all of the essential parameters on the expanded knob module in an intuitive manner. Each of the 8 delay's parameters occupy a column of controls for Gain, Delay, Feedback and Dampening.

To begin with a new Expand Fader map, hold the triangular Attention switch for the channel to map while pressing the Exp switch. Exp will illuminate blue and the Clear switch right next to it will flash red - which can be pressed to simply wipe out any legacy maps you might have previously created. Simply touch encoders from the knob module section then touch the faders below to correlate them. Any of the In switches associated with an encoder will show up below on the Fader as the Mute switch. Any Sel switches on the knob module will show up below on the Fader as Select. Use the User 1 and User 2 switches to jump back and forth between the 2 available pages of mapped parameters for the attentioned track.

To assign parameters to the Joystick Module - first make sure to Attention the track (attention it 2x if using a mono track element) to target both of the 2 joysticks on the module. Hold Shift while pressing the Setup Function X Y switch. The module is now expecting you to touch an encoder to first associate the X parameter followed by the Y parameter which flashes on the display. Press the Setup Function X Y switch (without Shift) to toggle between standard surround panning mode and custom parameter mapping mode.

Slapper 2 Expand Faders and Joystick Mapping



Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #128  
Old 11-02-2020, 04:30 PM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,155
Default Track Color Switches

[TRACK COLOR SWITCHES]

We've looked at a few of these functions related to other topics previously, but let's look holistically at what you can do with the Track Color Switches located just below the faders on your Fader Module or Channelstrip Module.

(1) Obviously - do assign specific Colors to any track elements within your session.

(2) Use the User 1 and User 2 switches to Bank Left or Bank Right, either within a Spill Zone (if you've already opened one up) or simply to Bank the standard channels. Under Settings > User you can decide whether you want the Bank functions to work on 8 Faders at a time or to bank based on the total number of faders on your surface.

(3) Use these switches as Modifiers. Hold Option while pressing any Select switch to quickly Select All Tracks or Deselect All Tracks.

(4) Hold Option while touching individual Faders or Encoders to Null / Default the parameters.

(5) Defining Selections. Press Select on the first track, then hold Shift and press Select on the final track to bound a range. Use Command + Select within the range to subtract that specific track.

(6) Hold Shift from any Fader Module while pressing any Numpad switch on the Automation Module to invoke a QuickJump to change all 4 Soft Key panels based on workflow. Shift + 7 will access Editing functions. We've accessed a simple Active/Inactive or use the Control modifier to access Hide+Inactive.

Track Color Switches

Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #129  
Old 11-08-2020, 04:34 PM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,155
Default Populating Spill Zones from Tracks

[POPULATING SPILL ZONES FROM TRACKS]

Let's take a closer look at an alternative way to place tracks of a specific type into your existing Spill Zones. We've previously looked at the process of placing a specific Track Type -> like VCA Masters or Instrument tracks into one of your Spill Zones. We've also looked at Track Layouts which are arguably the most powerful and granular composition of exactly the pieces that you want to see within a container.

As an alternative, it is possible to simply choose tracks from the Tracks page and quickly place them into either the Left or Right Spill Zones. Use Track Filtering to expedite the process of finding the tracks you need within large sessions by simply touching the track type listed in the row at the top of the tracks matrix.

Press the Tracks switch to view the Tracks Matrix page.
Press either L Spill or R Spill to designate the zone to place the tracks into. It will illuminate white to indicate that it is actively under control.
Touch Assign (just over from Attention and Select) from the Tracks page, then touch the specific tracks (green bounding boxes appear) to populate them into this zone. Again, use the track filters at the top of the page to speed up track location.
Touch Spill and the selected tracks will be placed into the active zone.
Repeat the process after selecting a different Spill Zone - R Spill for example.

Populating Spill Zones from Tracks


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #130  
Old 11-09-2020, 07:56 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,155
Default Re: Expand Fader Mapping: Altiverb

Sorry - I missed this. Please PM me and we can see what's going on with your rig.


Jeff



Quote:
Originally Posted by johnmichaelcaldwell View Post
Hi Jeff, thanks for this explanation. I'm having trouble getting the Expand Faders to actually map. It's explained simply enough and I've also watched your video that was posted as well. I'm able to get into the mapping mode, plugin parameters are expanded on the knob module and faders are down and ready to be assigned and the expand button is blinking blue - but when I touch a knob it doesn't blink and wait to be assigned...

This must be something really easy I'm missing but I'm just not getting it to work.
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com