Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-01-2009, 11:22 AM
amayhem amayhem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 51
Default LA-610 MK II settings

I know this is like asking how do you potty train a child. Since they're are to many variables I am asking preferences.

So what are your preferred settings?

And before you tell me to use my ear, (lol which I have) I'm using your opinion to hear what sounds other people strive for to further my experience. Hey you might benefit off this like i will.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-01-2009, 06:15 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 33,802
Default Re: LA-610 MK II settings

I bypass the compressor section and set the in and out levels for the proper level on the track, with the desired amount of drive(input vs output). Select the impedance setting that sounds the best. Then engage the compressor and set for the desired amount of GR(and reset the final output if needed).
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-03-2009, 08:42 AM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 2,952
Default Re: LA-610 MK II settings

I usually have the left side gain on +10. According to the user manual you get most out of the warm tube sound this way. The level around 5 and right side gain at about 5. When limiting/compressing I set the peak reduction between 2 and 3.

But it varies and depends on the source. I'v barely touched the eq section. When recording with a microphone I rather place the mic like I want rather than using the eq.

I prefer the recording sounding as finished as possible, so I don't have to do any post processing.
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-05-2009, 06:12 PM
amayhem amayhem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 51
Default Re: LA-610 MK II settings

What mic are both of your running through it? I have been wanting to upgrade my mic and was thinking of the TLM series. I currently have been running a blue bird.

Also has anyone upgraded the tubes on these? If so which kind? and was it worth the dollars?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Preference settings settings stainless 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-24-2009 03:35 PM
Pro tools click settings (1/8 notes or 16th note settings )? TREBLEBLEED 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 06-19-2008 09:59 PM
Cannot save plug-in settings to Root Settings folder SimonORorke Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 01-18-2008 08:38 PM
Settings for a new guy McGas 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-08-2006 01:47 PM
Settings on the toy Im about to get. optymusblu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-27-2003 06:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com