Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-09-2016, 08:08 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,767
Default Audio Import - Interleaved / Dual Mono Broken

hi, i just needed to import 50 tracks into a new session into Pro Tools 12.4 .. all files are just interleaved wav's ..

after import i noticed that some files came over Interleaved an some Dual-Mono ..

this has never happened to me and not sure how to solve this ..

yes, the option to drag Dual-Mono to Stereo tracks .. but that is not the point ..

this is NOT Working Correctly ..

i tried it with just 6 tracks and same thing ..

all tracks are interleaved - i made these myself in Cubase Pro 8

session is set to Interleaved in Session Setup Window Apple 2 ..

cheers john

NOTE: drag and drop works FINE ...
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD -OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 2019.6 last version
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.14.6 - PT 2019.6 Ended here ..
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-09-2016, 08:41 AM
thanos4 thanos4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 452
Default Re: Audio Import - Interleaved / Dual Mono Broken

Quote:
Originally Posted by john1192 View Post
hi, i just needed to import 50 tracks into a new session into Pro Tools 12.4 .. all files are just interleaved wav's ..

after import i noticed that some files came over Interleaved an some Dual-Mono ..

this has never happened to me and not sure how to solve this ..

yes, the option to drag Dual-Mono to Stereo tracks .. but that is not the point ..

this is NOT Working Correctly ..

i tried it with just 6 tracks and same thing ..

all tracks are interleaved - i made these myself in Cubase Pro 8

session is set to Interleaved in Session Setup Window Apple 2 ..

cheers john

NOTE: drag and drop works FINE ...
I had this issue too,when someone sent me files exported especially from Cubase pro 8...
All other files from other DAWs import correctly intro pro tools 12...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-09-2016, 09:22 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,767
Default Re: Audio Import - Interleaved / Dual Mono Broken

random Dual Mono ?? i have imported these files into other DAW's and no issues .. they see stereo files not dual mono .. only pro tools uses dual mono so that is why i say it is PT .. not CP8 ...

just more stupid Avid crap
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD -OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 2019.6 last version
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.14.6 - PT 2019.6 Ended here ..
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-09-2016, 09:40 AM
thanos4 thanos4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 452
Default Re: Audio Import - Interleaved / Dual Mono Broken

Quote:
Originally Posted by john1192 View Post
random Dual Mono ?? i have imported these files into other DAW's and no issues .. they see stereo files not dual mono .. only pro tools uses dual mono so that is why i say it is PT .. not CP8 ...

just more stupid Avid crap
+1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-06-2016, 10:21 AM
katrinaschiller katrinaschiller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: New York City
Posts: 1
Default Re: Audio Import - Interleaved / Dual Mono Broken

Hi John,

This has just happened to me as well. I've imported interleaved tracks from a PT 12.3 session into PT 10.3.9 session, with the audio originally being printed from Cubase. There were multiple starts on the same track import, and some cues came in as dual mono, some came in as Stereo. Did you find an answer for what happened?

Thanks,

Katrina
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-06-2016, 12:28 PM
David McRell David McRell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Hollywood, CA, USA
Posts: 130
Default Re: Audio Import - Interleaved / Dual Mono Broken

Hi Community! Asking for clarification here.

Are some interleaved files remaining Interleaved and some are splitting into Split Stereo, or is Pro Tools doing something worse, like putting the left side of the sound on both channels of the track?

In the case of the latter, when you drag the Clip into the track, the left/right is okay. Correct?

Thanks,
DMc
__________________
DM
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-06-2016, 12:55 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,767
Default Re: Audio Import - Interleaved / Dual Mono Broken

this had to do with Cubase not saving the files correctly or me not saving them correctly in Cubase ... it was an odd thing with Cubase for me ... not sure if this is the same thing you guys are talking about ..
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD -OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 2019.6 last version
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.14.6 - PT 2019.6 Ended here ..
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-06-2016, 03:14 PM
Wireline Wireline is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Midland TX
Posts: 141
Default Re: Audio Import - Interleaved / Dual Mono Broken

I've imported ~50 tracks projects into PT 12.5 from C4 and C7.5 without this happening, so I don't believe it's a ProTools issue...
__________________
Ken Morgan
Midland, TX
It Doesn't Matter What I Did Then - What I Do Now Is What's Important
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-06-2016, 03:20 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,767
Default Re: Audio Import - Interleaved / Dual Mono Broken

i had consolidated (offline bounced) some of the files in Cubase and that is where they became different ..


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wireline View Post
I've imported ~50 tracks projects into PT 12.5 from C4 and C7.5 without this happening, so I don't believe it's a ProTools issue...
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD -OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 2019.6 last version
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.14.6 - PT 2019.6 Ended here ..
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio import on stereo tracks instead of dual mono ? vudoo Pro Tools 11 9 06-14-2016 03:25 AM
Interleaved Import Broken? dwaynedelario Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 01-12-2013 08:27 AM
making interleaved files from dual mono adam_w1 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-17-2005 05:52 AM
Quickest way to get from dual mono to interleaved Neale Eckstein Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 3 10-18-2003 10:40 PM
What do i import a "dual mono" audio file as??? mono or split stereo? peter parker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 07-17-2002 04:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com