Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-29-2015, 03:15 AM
winkelement winkelement is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Berlin
Posts: 47
Default No Video Playback (Black Video window and thumbs)

Hi,

I can't make Pro Tools 12 to play any Video file. When i import a video (or open a session with video in it) video thumbs and video playback window are black, when i start playback it stays black and Pro Tools throws an error after i stop.
What i have tried so far:
- Change Playback Engine, disable re-enable Video Engine (Avid Video Engine shows up in activity monitor and stays there, seems to initialize and run fine)
- Trash Preferences
- Set up a new partition for testing, installed clean OS X 10.10, then 10.9., installed clean PT 12, then 11, Results are always the same, regardless which combination i choose (after each try i completely trashed the partition and started over)
- Installed Avid Codecs LE

I can play back the video files in OS X without problems (.mov, DVC and h264).
I installed PT 10 for testing and it just works fine with the same files.
I'm quite clueless right now what else to do so i hope somebody has some suggestions.

Thanks!
__________________
MacBook Pro C2D 8GB RAM
OS X 10.10.3
PT 12 & 10.3.10
Avid Fast Track Solo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-29-2015, 04:43 AM
thewiz's Avatar
thewiz thewiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Skien Norway
Posts: 290
Default Re: No Video Playback (Black Video window and thumbs)

Video works perfect here, MacBook Pro 2012 Yosemite, Thunderbolt 27" ProTools 12 Native.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-29-2015, 06:22 AM
mattrussell mattrussell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 128
Default Re: No Video Playback (Black Video window and thumbs)

Not having any issues in 11 or 12 with video. In 12 specifically, I've only had it for a day, but no problems.

Are you using a video card like an AJA, Blackmagic, DX, etc?

m
__________________
--
http://www.gainstructure.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-29-2015, 06:28 AM
mattrussell mattrussell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 128
Default Re: No Video Playback (Black Video window and thumbs)

The only thing I can think of off the top of my head is try converting the video from within QT to something very simple. Go to File>Export. Then, try something like 480p. It will kick out a .mov and then, import that in PT.

If that works, you know it's a video compatibility issue.

m
__________________
--
http://www.gainstructure.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-29-2015, 07:20 AM
ha2dorff ha2dorff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bergen, Norway
Posts: 242
Default Re: No Video Playback (Black Video window and thumbs)

Hm... If it worked with 11 it should work with 12. I have no trouble.
Maybe you should try a new project for a test.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-30-2015, 01:39 AM
winkelement winkelement is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Berlin
Posts: 47
Default Re: No Video Playback (Black Video window and thumbs)

I'm not using any external video card or have installed any third party video drivers also i never had MC installed.

So from my testing it doesn't matter if the OS is 10.10 or 10.9 or if PT is 12 or 11, Video Engine just don't work for me with different video codecs (with or without timecode, different settings....). I thought it may be due to my outdated hardware but doing a search in the forums shows me tons of other threads regarding the same or similar/related problem with PT11 Video Engine and it seems CPU and RAM independent (some people having the same problems run latest i7 and 32GB RAM). Considering that things worked for some people and then suddenly problems started without changing anything i would suspect an changed/updated Quicktime component might be the source of trouble here but i don't have time to dig really into it so i will stay with a working PT 10 for now.

Thanks for the help anyway!
__________________
MacBook Pro C2D 8GB RAM
OS X 10.10.3
PT 12 & 10.3.10
Avid Fast Track Solo
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-30-2015, 02:23 AM
Stereo Missile Stereo Missile is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 490
Default Re: No Video Playback (Black Video window and thumbs)

Try converting to DNxHD video if you can, from my research that is what plays nicest with Protools as it is the Avid codec. I just finished a movie score, can load the whole movie in DNxHD into protools and play with multiple streams of music, dialog, effects with no problem.

Apparently some of the other codecs don't play so nice, especially H264. ProRes is supposedly ok, just going from what I've been told.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Steve Peach
Stereo Missile Recordings

Creative Director - Red Note Visionary Sounds: http://rednote.com.au
Label: http://www.stereomissile.com/
Music Production / Mixing: http://www.stereomissile.com/musicproducer/
Mastering: http://www.stereomissile.com/mastering/
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-30-2015, 01:20 PM
winkelement winkelement is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Berlin
Posts: 47
Default Re: No Video Playback (Black Video window and thumbs)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereo Missile View Post
Try converting to DNxHD video if you can, from my research that is what plays nicest with Protools as it is the Avid codec. I just finished a movie score, can load the whole movie in DNxHD into protools and play with multiple streams of music, dialog, effects with no problem.

Apparently some of the other codecs don't play so nice, especially H264. ProRes is supposedly ok, just going from what I've been told.

Hope this helps.
I already tried converting to DNxHD but had the same results, black video window and thumbs in PT (12 and 11), plays back fine on desktop (Quicktime Player, VLC,...)
__________________
MacBook Pro C2D 8GB RAM
OS X 10.10.3
PT 12 & 10.3.10
Avid Fast Track Solo
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-30-2015, 02:56 PM
Buccanears's Avatar
Buccanears Buccanears is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 759
Default Re: No Video Playback (Black Video window and thumbs)

Core 2 Duo will not work with video, unfortunately. Needs to be i5 or preferably i7.
__________________
Q "where are your buccanears?"
A "on your buccanhead!"
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-30-2015, 10:14 PM
PeterScherr PeterScherr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Sai Kung, Hong Kong SAR
Posts: 158
Default Re: No Video Playback (Black Video window and thumbs)

Too bad about the op's processor...

Just want to say I've been having decent results with apple prores
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mov/Avi making PT lag, mpeg/mp4 video doesn't appear in video Window Fletch88 macOS 3 08-28-2011 01:26 PM
using sync i/o as video black and burst gen? James Drake Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 08-05-2010 07:48 AM
VideoSatellite LE video goes black ??? vudoo Post - Surround - Video 2 01-01-2010 06:53 AM
Black magic video sync s0und80y Post - Surround - Video 2 05-09-2007 03:16 AM
OT Black Label Society's Video WorldOfWiz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-27-2003 05:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:36 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com