Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-22-2020, 04:02 PM
diverseradio diverseradio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Kaneohe
Posts: 24
Default waveform problem on pc

I have 2018.12 Pro Tools software on pc. I've tried all the options under 'view' to get the right waveform for recording and worked with the zoom option but that didn't help. I used to have no problem until the problem just showed up and I don't know what to do, I can't record with accuracy and precision anymore. Please help thank you

Last edited by diverseradio; 08-22-2020 at 04:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-22-2020, 04:24 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,921
Default Re: waveform problem

Sorry, but your question is vague and confusing(to me, anyway). Maybe post a screen capture so we can see what you see. Meanwhile, Make sure that under View>Waveforms that Rectified is NOT selected(I check Peak and Outlines as my view).

Here are some other things that may matter:
1-what size is your screen(or screens)?
2-what resolution are you using?
3-recording with accuracy and precision is done by metering(waveform really only matters when it comes to editing, not recording)
4-here is a link to a youtube video showing some good info on waveform zoom https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MdkL01ntC6c
If you are on Windows, Ctrl+Start+Alt+[ will restore the "normal"(non-zoomed) setting(the first 3 are also referred to as "power claw" and [ means the left bracket key).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-22-2020, 05:22 PM
diverseradio diverseradio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Kaneohe
Posts: 24
Default Re: waveform problem on pc

sorry don't mean to be confusing and yes the real problem will occur when it's time to edit. Rectified is not selected, peak and outlines are. I pressed alt ctrl start and left bracket but that didn't solve the problem. My waveforms used to be well more like a wave. I don't know what happened but now they are not.
Here's a picture thanks again I hope the attachment came through ok

IMG_0267.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-22-2020, 07:39 PM
diverseradio diverseradio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Kaneohe
Posts: 24
Default Re: waveform problem on pc

Hi Dave I think I can get a lot more specific. When I horizontally expand an audio track it takes way too long and ends up making edits impossible because of how fast the selected area becomes. I don't know how to fix this it's never happened to me before. also the waveform looks very different. thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-23-2020, 12:00 PM
diverseradio diverseradio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Kaneohe
Posts: 24
Default Re: waveform problem on pc

sorry to keep bothering you but i'd like to try and explain my situation one last time. despite tripping over my words I've been recording ad editing for some years now and recently the waveforms have changed for no apparent reason. I think it may be a glitch. here are two more pictures, one with regular zoom the other zoomed in considerably. In both I have an imported wave file in track 1 and then my audio tracks. you are the only one who has replied to me thank you so much Dave. and I have no idea why the photos are upside down they look fine on my phone sorry I think it'll do the trick though
IMG_0269.jpg

IMG_0270.jpg

Last edited by diverseradio; 08-23-2020 at 12:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-23-2020, 03:04 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,921
Default Re: waveform problem on pc

Hmmmm, First thing is to use screen capture instead of a camera. Next, the first pic (Attachment 13394) looks like either its recorded way too hot, or you have the waveform zoom too large. Where are the track meters reading on that? With digital, there is no reason to record any hotter than just hitting yellow on the meters. You can also change the vertical size of the track(not just expand the waveform) easily(one track, several tracks or all tracks)

Attachment 13398(the last pic) looks like you are zoomed way out(almost to where the waveform becomes a line, which is what you want if you are going to edit the waveform with the pencil tool)

Attachment 13397 looks completely normal to me and its a zoom view that shows the entire length of the song(what I set as zoom preset 1).

Are you hip to all the zoom options? Like R and T to zoom in/out horizontally. Or that you can change the 5 zoom presets to your liking(zoom in/out with the arrow buttons and Ctrl-click on a preset to store that setting). The there's the quick zoom option where you swipe across the part of the waveform you want to edit, and hit the E key so that selection fills the screen(hit E again to go right back to the previous view). (All these key commands are done with keyboard focus enabled).

Maybe spend some time on youtube and watch some tutorials on zoom and edit window navigation? It looks to me like things are working normally but you haven't yet learned how to use all the options yet
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-23-2020, 10:47 PM
diverseradio diverseradio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Kaneohe
Posts: 24
Default Re: waveform problem on pc

thanks Dave. I have one more question before we part. I played around with this waveform and the only obstacle i see facing is when I cut to adjust volume or get rid of a pop for example and need the moving line during play to get a good direction of where to cut is a problem because when I zoom out the line moves to fast. It's zooming out too fast per singular click. this is a new problem for me. However this seems to be the only problem I have for this new waveform. what specific shortcut can solve this problem? I tried R and T but nothing happened (i used the zoom tool). I greatly appreciate your time and effort-Logan
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-24-2020, 08:59 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,453
Default Re: waveform problem on pc

Try Alt+Scroll Wheel will zoom in or out.

Shift+Scroll Wheel will move you up or down the Timeline.

AL+Shift+Scroll Wheel will increase or decrease the waveform height. And the waveform height normally has no relation to the signal volume.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-24-2020, 01:24 PM
diverseradio diverseradio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Kaneohe
Posts: 24
Default Re: waveform problem on pc

thanks i guess i'll have to get used to this waveform for now I'm sorry I couldn't be more specific as to what changed whether a glitch or a pc issue idk i'll keep investigating though. I appreciate the shortcuts.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-24-2020, 09:42 PM
diverseradio diverseradio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Kaneohe
Posts: 24
Default Re: waveform problem on pc FIXED PROBLEM!

in case other people have the same issue I wanted to let you know that the display resolution on the PC in general affects the zoom in Pro Tools so the smaller the icons on PC (don't go overboard) the more precision you have while editing in Pro Tools. My thanks again to Dave and The Weed
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Waveform problem!!! 82gstef macOS 2 08-15-2011 12:32 PM
Waveform problem patswope 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 12-26-2010 07:12 PM
waveform problem with 7.4 LE silvernan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-13-2008 12:05 AM
Waveform problem Riad Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 7 01-11-2005 07:00 AM
Waveform Redraw Problem......help? dcarlson247 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-12-2002 08:48 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com