Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-01-2013, 08:03 PM
DJtrademark DJtrademark is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 9
Default Issues with Pro Tools Le 8 and iMac !! Please Help

hello,
I recently purchased a brand new iMac 21.5 inch (OS X version 10.8.2, 2.7 GHz Intel Core i5, 8 GB (Memomry)1600 Mhz DDR4, Macintosh HD)

I just copied over Pro Tools 8 LE to my new iMac from my Macbook pro (10.5.8, 2.26 GHz, 2 GB (memory) using the file sharing feature.

At first Pro Tools would not open but then I downloaded the 8.0.5 update and it now opens.

The issues I am having is after recording, when i play back all i here is a tapping sound, even though the sound waves show that my recording was successful

If I restart the computer and then reopen the session it plays back fine, but after a while it starts to playback in a distorted sound,

another problem I noticed is that If I close Pro Tools, I can not reopen it again with out restarting my computer ,if i try it will stop loading a "Xpand!dmp" during the start up

I am running Pro Tools Le 8.0.5 with a MBox 2 mini

Any Ideas ?

Thank You
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-01-2013, 08:49 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,797
Default Re: Issues with Pro Tools Le 8 and iMac !! Please Help

We already mentioned in your other post where you asked the same question, that PT8 is not compatible with Mountain Lion. It wasn't even compatible with Lion.

You will need to upgrade to PT10 if you want to use your new Imac.


And for future reference, you don't want to copy programs from one computer to another, even if they are compatible. You want to re-download and install from scratch when it comes to programs and plugins. Copying files is okay for documents, photos, Itunes stuff, etc., but not for programs or plugins.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MBOX 2 PRO and i5 imac issues bloke FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 1 07-31-2013 09:30 AM
Issues with Pro Tools 9 and Hyper Threaded iMac ianstudio403 macOS 3 01-21-2012 11:13 PM
New iMac i5 & Mbox Issues Lune 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-01-2011 04:33 PM
New Quad iMac, Pro Tools and Bluetooth issues DigiTechSupt Technical Alerts 0 12-17-2009 05:02 PM
iMac G5 for friend - about to buy, but fan issues? edgarbc1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-13-2005 02:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com