Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-21-2020, 01:14 PM
djohnson223 djohnson223 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: FT Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 7
Default Behringer X-Touch Faders

Has anyone got the fader touch for selecting the channels feature to work in Pro tools with the Behringer X-Touch and if so how?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-21-2020, 02:10 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,163
Default Re: Behringer X-Touch Faders

HUI or Mackie setup in peripherals should do the trick.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-21-2020, 02:16 PM
djohnson223 djohnson223 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: FT Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 7
Default Re: Behringer X-Touch Faders

I have it setup as HUI. The faders work when I move them in pro tools but the touch fader part that selects the track when you touch the fader for that channel wont work. I thought MC wont work in Pro tools, only HUI.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-21-2020, 03:56 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,163
Default Re: Behringer X-Touch Faders

I never used any behringer controllers so I can’t say what you need but wait and see if anyone else jumps in who has one. Also try behringer forums or FB group.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-22-2020, 09:47 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,337
Default Re: Behringer X-Touch Faders

Does HUI even support that? I don’t think so. When using HUI, one has always had to use the fader select left/right buttons to navigate the selected fader.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.4.

Pro Tools HD Native 2020.3, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-25-2020, 10:53 AM
djohnson223 djohnson223 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: FT Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 7
Default Re: Behringer X-Touch Faders

Thats what I'm trying to find out. Behringer says it will work but wont tell me how because they say it's a Pro Tools issue.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-26-2020, 07:21 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,376
Default Re: Behringer X-Touch Faders

Quote:
Originally Posted by djohnson223 View Post
Thats what I'm trying to find out. Behringer says it will work but wont tell me how because they say it's a Pro Tools issue.
Interesting. I know it's not the same device, but I had the Presonus Fader Port 8, which uses HUI and the corresponding track was selected when you touched a fader. There was no additional setup involved.
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-10-2020, 08:49 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,738
Default Re: Behringer X-Touch Faders

Isn't that feature in PT setup with the pref "record selection follows select".....or something like that?
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-29-2020, 01:45 PM
swalker6262 swalker6262 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Clearwater, FL USA
Posts: 1
Default Re: Behringer X-Touch Faders

I installed Pro Tools on my iMac last week and it works with my Midas MR18 digital mixer and about 50% with Behringer X-Touch with HUI protocol.

I loaded the Pro Tools Demo "Kelly Malone - Earth and Stars" session which consists of 54 tracks. I can play the entire song with the above equipment connected.

X-Touch Sections confirmed to have the following functionality:
1. Channel strips 1-8 faders and buttons work, scribble strips names are correct, and Pan knob adjusts in conjunction with the Encoder Assign (upper right) Pan/Surround button.

2. The MAIN fader does not seem to work with Pro Tools.

3. Transport Rewind, Fast Forward, Stop, Play and Record buttons work.

4. Fader Bank and Channel buttons work through all 54 tracks of demo song.

5. The Jog Wheel does NOT work moving Timeline Selection Point

6. The Jog Wheel works as a scrub function if you press the SCRUB button

7. The Global View button opens the Mix window and Midi Tracks button opens the Edit window allowing you to toggle back and forth

8. The arrow buttons on the left of the Jog Wheel partially work: With the middle button lit solid, the Left and Right arrow performs the Horizontal Zoom Out and In. The up and down arrow buttons don't seem to work?

X-Touch SECTIONS not identified on the right half of the unit are:
1. Encoder Assignments
2. Most buttons below the display
3. Function buttons
4. Modify
5. Automation
6. Utility
7. Transport (Marker, Nudge, Cycle, Drop, Replace, Click, Solo) buttons.

Please anyone with information on the X-Touch Mapping would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Steve Walker

Last edited by swalker6262; 08-31-2020 at 06:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-24-2020, 02:39 AM
mark.ed mark.ed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Milton Keynes
Posts: 1
Default Re: Behringer X-Touch Faders

@swalker6262 I use my x touch with PT.

On page 13 of the quick start guide there’s a diagram showing the mapping in HUI mode:

https://mediadl.musictribe.com/media...9953980446.pdf

I then got in touch with Daniel at taktility about making a custom Pro Tools X Touch overlay via his website:

https://www.taktility.com/

He probably still has the design I used, which puts a nice logo on it as well, and looks like this:

https://www.instagram.com/p/CFvTXeVA...=1df2hz205aiiw

I think it was around €20 including shipping to the UK.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Behringer X-touch issue secret studios Pro Tools 12 1 05-16-2019 07:13 AM
Behringer X-Touch or Presonus Faderport 8 or ..? JBQIII Pro Tools 12 11 08-20-2017 08:28 PM
FS Behringer X-Touch brianjanthony Buy & Sell 0 05-26-2017 06:42 AM
Behringer X-Touch finally shipping albee1952 General Discussion 19 05-11-2016 02:38 PM
Behringer X-Touch peter5992 Third Party Interfaces 1 02-04-2015 10:56 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com