How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 09-12-2011, 04:15 PM

Default all around help needed setting up Pro Tools 9 and mbox 2

Hello everyone!

let me start by saying I am a total noob at every piece of equipment I have, and will need all the help I can get. I had never owned a mac until 2 days ago, and had never used pro tools or an mbox until 2 days ago either. Im currently on a 27" iMac running OSX Lion, and i had bought pro tools 8 LE, but realized that wasn't compatible with Lion so I bought the upgrade to Pro Tools 9. After a lot of hassling (and trying to make my way about an apple computer), I finally got pro tools 9 to install. So, not only do I have no idea what any of these crazy features do yet (musician, not a tech guy), I for some reason cannot get any sound to record from the mbox2 to the computer

The setup is; mbox 2 plugged into the iMac via the USB cable that was included. 2 Fostex monitors hooked up to the mbox 2. Bass guitar plugged into Input 1.