Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 03-01-2011, 03:58 AM

Default Ideas about the most stable interface for PT 9?

Hey! I'm a composer with a small project studio. A while ago, I moved from an MBox 2, into an 003 Rack, to run away from USB in a time when the MBox caused kernel panics in Mac OS X. This issue was solved by Avid with a driver update, but only after I bought a used 003 Rack on craigslist Then, the 003 brought me more problems: power cycling issues that hang PT and force me to restart the computer, everytime I forget to reboot the 003 every 20 hours. Booting up an 003, with the clackitty clicks, feels like waiting for tubes to warmup in an old radio Right now I'm typing this message with PT off, because since the 003 lost power while a session was open, now everytime I open a session, it won't play by pressing space bar. I probably have to reboot the Mac again.

This brings me to my question: now that Pro Tools 9 supports tons of interfaces, would it do any good to get a PCI interface inside this mac, like an Audiophile 192?
Would I be less troubled with random power issues and error messages?

I'm asking because I remember reading here about performance differences between USB and Firewire, and someone mentioned that the reason why HD (and the old Digi 001) seemed to run with less trouble than the new toys, was because the connection was PCI, not through a FW/USB bus. Valid question? Tell me your thoughts, folks!
Mac Pro Quad 2.66, 20 GB RAM;
Audio/MIDI Hardware:
RME Fireface UC, M-Audio Keystation 88es + Akai LPK25 (USB);
Old 03-01-2011, 05:36 AM

Default Re: Ideas about the most stable interface for PT 9?