Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 07-11-2017, 01:58 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,679
Default Re: Apple ProRes 422 and 12.8HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by michael c View Post
Thanks John! I figured out a work around, but outside PT. Still a head scratcher. I would DropBox you a clip but not allowed to at this time per IMAX agreement.
no worries - totally understood !! may i ask what your workaround is ??? for our edification !!!

cheers john
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-11-2017, 06:56 PM
michael c michael c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: LA CA 90027
Posts: 1,072
Default Re: Apple ProRes 422 and 12.8HD

I just used QT Pro and added the stereo track since it was exactly the same frame rate / length as the 1920x1080. This is really just for the post production's reel for later use after the IMAX work airs.
__________________
Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-core (6.1 2015)
Sierra 10.12.6
64 GB RAM
1 TB PCIe flash storage
Pro Tools Ultimate HD 2019.5
HD Native Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-11-2017, 07:05 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,679
Default Re: Apple ProRes 422 and 12.8HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by michael c View Post
I just used QT Pro and added the stereo track since it was exactly the same frame rate / length as the 1920x1080. This is really just for the post production's reel for later use after the IMAX work airs.
i was going to mention this scenario as i use it all the time to deliver different versions .. client can just turn on the version they wish to use .. the reason i did not mention is that your video was Black - so i assumed (bad thing to do) that your video wpould not be good enough to add the track directly to the QT ..

nice work .. !!!
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-12-2017, 10:43 AM
Cryos's Avatar
Cryos Cryos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Montreal
Posts: 454
Default Re: Apple ProRes 422 and 12.8HD

As far as I'm aware you need the ProRes Codec from apple. I remember having this issue and realized I didn't have the codec installed. I don't know if this is still the csae with 12.7 and above.
__________________
Cory Rizos, CAS
Re-recording Mixer/Sound Designer
Montreal, Quebec
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0007185/
coryrizos.com
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-16-2017, 11:58 PM
Bokir Bokir is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Posts: 226
Default Re: Apple ProRes 422 and 12.8HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by michael c View Post
The other clip of the same material is a .mov ProRes 422 at 1920*804 and that is the one that shows up as 'blank'.
Exactly the same thing here ...
__________________
Satrio Budiono
FourMix Audio Post


Mac Pro (2013) 3.7GHz Quad Core, 32GB RAM, OS X 10.13.4, PT Ultimate 2018.10, Sonnet TB2 III-D, Avid HDX 2, Avid Sync HD, Avid HD Omni, JBL Intonato, JBL 708P & 705P
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-17-2017, 09:02 AM
michael c michael c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: LA CA 90027
Posts: 1,072
Default Re: Apple ProRes 422 and 12.8HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bokir View Post
Exactly the same thing here ...
I was never able to figure out why......
__________________
Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-core (6.1 2015)
Sierra 10.12.6
64 GB RAM
1 TB PCIe flash storage
Pro Tools Ultimate HD 2019.5
HD Native Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-12-2017, 08:57 AM
JKHansen's Avatar
JKHansen JKHansen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 3
Default Re: Apple ProRes 422 and 12.8HD

I'm having the same issue. Proves 422 Proxy alway worked great prior to 12.8 (and indeed was my preferred delivery codec) but working in a new project post updating to 12.8 the video is black and no frames display as originally stated in this thread. Yet this same file plays fine in finder and quicktime player.

I've also tried to convert a separately delivered AVC .mp4 version to Prores 422 (trying Full, LT and Proxy) using MPEG Streamclip and have the same issues on import. Indeed I can tell the video won't display before even importing as the preview pane in the PT video import window displays no video. I have all the proper codecs installed.

Is this a new bug in 12.8?
__________________
MacBook Pro (17" - Mid 2010), 2.66GHz i7, 8GB RAM
Internal 1T SS SATA System Drive
Internal 500G SATA Audio Drive
OS X 10.10.5
Focusrite Saffire PRO 40
Pro Tools 12.8.1 Native
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-12-2017, 11:48 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,679
Default Re: Apple ProRes 422 and 12.8HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by JKHansen View Post
I'm having the same issue. Proves 422 Proxy alway worked great prior to 12.8 (and indeed was my preferred delivery codec) but working in a new project post updating to 12.8 the video is black and no frames display as originally stated in this thread. Yet this same file plays fine in finder and quicktime player.

I've also tried to convert a separately delivered AVC .mp4 version to Prores 422 (trying Full, LT and Proxy) using MPEG Streamclip and have the same issues on import. Indeed I can tell the video won't display before even importing as the preview pane in the PT video import window displays no video. I have all the proper codecs installed.

Is this a new bug in 12.8?
hi, have you tried converting in Compressor or just using QT ???? just thinking out loud !!!
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-10-2019, 03:59 AM
priorytools priorytools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,110
Default Re: Apple ProRes 422 and 12.8HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by john1192 View Post
yes ProRes 422 works just fine .. what video codec are you used to working with in pro tools ??

cheers john
Hi John.
I'm having an issue with 12.8.3 after updating from 12.6.2 seeing a Prores 422 HQ file.
On the video track in the clip it says "media off line". .
I imported the file again to see if that would work, same result ?

An ideas ?
Josh
__________________
~ Trashcan Mac Pro late 2013 - 64 GB RAM - 10.12.6 / Pro Tools HD 12.8.3 / HDX 2 + UAD2 PCIe OCTO in Magma Expressbox 3T / HD I/O's x 4 + 1 x 96io / Avid S6 M10-24-5 V3.6 ~
~ MBP 15" 2.8 Intel Core i7 -10.12.6 /Apollo 16 / Steinberg U22 / Artist MIx / Pro Tools HD 12.8.3 - UAD2 V8 / UAD2 Satellite DUO ~
~ Mac Pro 8 core - clover - 13 GB ram - 10.6.8 / HD5 / Pro Tools 9.0.6 / HEAT / Magma PE6R4 / ProControl 24 faders / UAD2 QUAD PCIe ~ ARCHIVE RIG
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ProRes 422 cant be imported critictalk Getting Started 5 05-08-2017 12:09 PM
PT11.3.1 Not Playing ProRes LT remotedude Post - Surround - Video 5 05-22-2015 12:16 PM
read Apple ProRes 422 with PT 9 cozy_man Post - Surround - Video 10 02-02-2011 03:19 PM
Prores 442 Newpostguy Post - Surround - Video 11 04-10-2010 04:04 PM
Apple ProRes codec will play out firewire, why not so in PT? soundworx Post - Surround - Video 3 05-10-2008 08:55 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com