Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-05-2019, 08:14 PM
kirkbross's Avatar
kirkbross kirkbross is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 347
Default What's the longest Pro Tools has gone...

What do you suppose is the longest Pro Tools has ever gone with no support for Apple's latest OS? *

We're at 7 months now, but, somehow I suspect that's not the record(?)

PT 2018.12.0 runs worse on my Mac Mini than on my 2008 Mac Pro – it constantly crashes and runs out of CPU power even on tiny sessions at *any* sample buffer.

* I know they specifically say 'don't upgrade to Mojave' but I had no choice with my Mac Mini which shipped with Mojave.
__________________
Pearlman Church Microphone > Great River MP-2NV > Warm Audio WA-76 > Apogee Symphony MK II 8x8+8MP > PT2018 on 2018 Mac Mini with 32GB of RAM running Mojave.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-05-2019, 08:33 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,247
Default Re: What's the longest Pro Tools has gone...

Have you tried disabling hyperthreading? And troubleshooting which of your plugins might be causing problems? Lots of folks are able to get this all working.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-05-2019, 09:16 PM
64GTOBOY's Avatar
64GTOBOY 64GTOBOY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Houston
Posts: 708
Default Re: What's the longest Pro Tools has gone...

IIRC PT 5 never ran on OSX and i think that was about a year until PT6 came out after OSX was released. I am old though and my memory might be off
__________________
Dell XPS 8900 i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz 32 Gig Memory:Seagate 2 TB,1TB,4TB,500gb EVO OS Windows 7 Ultimate
PT 2019.6 Native through A&H Qu-32
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-05-2019, 10:45 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,028
Default What's the longest Pro Tools has gone...

Quote:
Originally Posted by 64GTOBOY View Post
IIRC PT 5 never ran on OSX and i think that was about a year until PT6 came out after OSX was released. I am old though and my memory might be off

Almost a year and a half. Two years if you count the Kodiak beta. They completely missed Cheetah and Puma and didn't get 6 released until Jaguar.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Sierra 10.12.6.

Pro Tools HD 2018.12, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-05-2019, 11:14 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,606
Default Re: What's the longest Pro Tools has gone...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Top Jimmy View Post
They completely missed Cheetah and Puma and didn't get 6 released until Jaguar.
Though OSX was completely new OS at the time and to be fair it wasn't usable until Jaguar 10.2.3 released just before Christmas 2002 -- but true, long wait there (for a huge jump from classic Mac to full blown UNIX).
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-06-2019, 01:03 AM
Meads's Avatar
Meads Meads is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,815
Default Re: What's the longest Pro Tools has gone...

Developer Beta of Mojave started in the beginning of June 2018. We're not 7 months in but 11.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-06-2019, 01:24 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,606
Default Re: What's the longest Pro Tools has gone...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meads View Post
Developer Beta of Mojave started in the beginning of June 2018. We're not 7 months in but 11.
Yes, not funny at all. Lucky PT doesn't seem to be having so big issues with Mojave, but Avid has still dropped the ball on this one. The support should have been so last year, but no.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-06-2019, 01:47 AM
Meads's Avatar
Meads Meads is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,815
Default What's the longest Pro Tools has gone...

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Yes, not funny at all. Lucky PT doesn't seem to be having so big issues with Mojave, but Avid has still dropped the ball on this one. The support should have been so last year, but no.


Yes, it runs pretty stable on Mojave for me as well. But I had a different system issue, contacted Apple, they went through my system logs and said, a process by Avid causes it. So I contacted Avid support and they refused assistance since I was on Mojave. So I had to create an external boot disk with High Sierra and make it a clone of my normal working drive manually in order to get support from Avid on my real world situation.
Unpaid hours down the drain for me.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-06-2019, 02:02 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,606
Default Re: What's the longest Pro Tools has gone...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meads View Post
Unpaid hours down the drain for me.
That's the risk you take using unsupported software, but point taken
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-06-2019, 02:13 AM
Meads's Avatar
Meads Meads is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,815
Default Re: What's the longest Pro Tools has gone...

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
That's the risk you take using unsupported software, but point taken
Right, it's the user's fault for getting modern hardware that comes with unsupported software preinstalled. How dare we buy new things?

But yeah, I think we're kind of on the same page here. Sure it's not wise to use unsupported software, but when you basically have no choice (as in people buying their first Mac which happens to come with Mojave - there's hardly a way to downgrade in that case) and the OS has been out for months - there's no valid ground to blame the user here. This is fault of a company that is so far behind delivering what they are being paid for annually, that they should be forced to reimburse.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The longest minute... paranerd Post - Surround - Video 0 07-08-2010 07:07 AM
longest ODI cable? c-post Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 04-27-2010 05:14 PM
Longest file format Jeffrey Talbot Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 03-31-2009 11:17 PM
What's the longest cable I can get to connect 192? C_F_H_13 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 03-21-2004 10:02 PM
longest firewire cable for 002? cheese2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-01-2003 06:22 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com