Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-13-2014, 01:30 PM
u47u67u87 u47u67u87 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1
Default No Sound Coming Out of Pro Tools

Hello,
This is my first time on the forums.
I am importing audio files from my Logic projects to
work in Pro Tools.
When I try to play back the audio in the edit window, no sound comes out.
Unfortunately, my pocket isn't big enough for the full version of
Pro Tools 11 HD, so this is a 30 day demo.
I would be absolutely more than grateful if you
could help me solve this problem.

Thanks,
u47u67u87
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-13-2014, 02:02 PM
theresbuzz theresbuzz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Cloud Cuckoo Land
Posts: 16
Default Re: No Sound Coming Out of Pro Tools

Hey,

you need to provide a few points of reference otherwise it´s hard to pinpoint your problem.
First check the hardware make sure you have everything plugged into your system.
Second check in Pro Tools under Setup-->Hardware if your soundcard is recognised correctly.
Third check the playback engine in the setup menu.
Fourth check in the mixer on which output you are sending your audio and recheck that in you I/O setup, if this output corresponds to the correct outputs on the soundcard.

Hope it makes some sense.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-13-2014, 10:25 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,594
Default Re: No Sound Coming Out of Pro Tools

Yes, check the i/o setup window, there's everything your mixer will ever use. If it's wrong, it is wrong.

And welcome to the forum!
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-14-2014, 03:10 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,414
Default Re: No Sound Coming Out of Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by u47u67u87 View Post
Hello,
This is my first time on the forums.
I am importing audio files from my Logic projects to
work in Pro Tools.
When I try to play back the audio in the edit window, no sound comes out.
Unfortunately, my pocket isn't big enough for the full version of
Pro Tools 11 HD, so this is a 30 day demo.
I would be absolutely more than grateful if you
could help me solve this problem.

Thanks,
u47u67u87
Welcome to the forum.
I'm going to assume you have your audio I/O interface correctly in OSX Audio/MIDI Setup and System Sound because you're getting audio in Logic. When you start Pro Tools hold down the 'n' key and you should be presented with a dialog box allowing you to select the audio engine of your choice. When you do that go to Preferences and in every page for Input, Output and Buses select default and that should give you the routing you need to get audio in and out of PT. And make sure you're selecting the correct output (which will vary by name depending on your specific audio interface but generally called Main Output) on the track you want to listen to. Once you get that down then there's all sorts of audio routing to try.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No sound coming from software instruments on Pro Tools SE 8.0.3 taylor6192 Pro Tools SE and Essential (Mac) 9 09-08-2014 05:53 AM
Just setup pro tools 10 and have no sound coming through the ouput mingalls Pro Tools 10 2 08-13-2012 09:50 AM
Pro Tools 9.0 no sound coming out of my monitors shamanrock Windows 2 08-05-2011 09:18 PM
No sound coming through my C|24 gulbis ICON & C|24 2 10-04-2010 04:44 AM
no sound coming out of pro tools Sweepxcore Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 12 03-19-2010 11:23 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com