Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-01-2011, 07:18 AM
EricWillhelm EricWillhelm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 609
Default Converting Volume Automation to Clip Gain = Higher Volume!

Okay, so I just tried converting all the volume automation to clip gain in a session (Edit>Automation>), and lo and behold, the volumes are entirely DIFFERENT! Once converted to clip gain, all volume increases are way louder. So basically I'd have to go in and re-adjust everything. So I'm just curious why this conversion from volume to clip gain isn't unified, volume-wise. It oughta be, should it not?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-01-2011, 07:37 AM
brickroadstudio brickroadstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 235
Default Re: Converting Volume Automation to Clip Gain = Higher Volume!

So what is the difference between using volume automation vs the new clip gain?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-01-2011, 07:42 AM
EricWillhelm EricWillhelm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 609
Default Re: Converting Volume Automation to Clip Gain = Higher Volume!

The most appreciable diff (in my opine) is that with clip gain the waveform adjusts to your higher/lower volume, which is a nice visual indicator of how loud the clip will be, in comparison to adjacent regions/clips. It basically eliminates the guesswork from matching levels.

Another nice thing about it is, while we wait for the return of non-realtime bouncing, you can at the very least, in the case of mere mono or stereo tracks, make clip gain adjustments and render them, and then just export the file(s) without having to bounce in order to get your volume adjustments printed.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-01-2011, 08:47 AM
simonchase simonchase is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 305
Default Re: Converting Volume Automation to Clip Gain = Higher Volume!

Quote:
Originally Posted by EricWillhelm View Post
the volumes are entirely DIFFERENT
Ouch, I hope that's not the case. As long as you're using less than 12dB of clip gain you'd certainlly want the conversion to be identical.
__________________
PT Ultimate 2019.5 - Mbox 3 Pro ---- MacOS 10.12.6 - Mac Pro (Mid 2010) - 2 x 3.46 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon - 48 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 RAM - SSD Startup Disk ---- AJA Kona LHi PCIe
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-01-2011, 08:50 AM
EricWillhelm EricWillhelm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 609
Default Re: Converting Volume Automation to Clip Gain = Higher Volume!

Read it and weep. I'm going from VOLUME to GAIN, so it definitely ISN'T beyond 12dB. But it certainly is LOUDER.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-01-2011, 08:59 AM
simonchase simonchase is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 305
Default Re: Converting Volume Automation to Clip Gain = Higher Volume!

__________________
PT Ultimate 2019.5 - Mbox 3 Pro ---- MacOS 10.12.6 - Mac Pro (Mid 2010) - 2 x 3.46 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon - 48 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 RAM - SSD Startup Disk ---- AJA Kona LHi PCIe
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-01-2011, 10:13 AM
sounddroid sounddroid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Marin County, CA
Posts: 52
Default Re: Converting Volume Automation to Clip Gain = Higher Volume!

Eric, I don't have any solutions to offer, but I can say that this definitely hasn't been my experience. In my experience, the only two appreciable differences between clip gain and volume gain are:

maximum gain: +12 (fader) vs +36 (clip)

pre/post insert points: clip gain is pre inserts, fader gain is post inserts. This will obviously change the way sounds interact with threshold-dependent dynamics plugins - compressors, gates, etc.

Other than that, I have found that the convert/coalesce process between Fader gain and Clip gain (and vice versa) is very predictable.

Please note the difference between "Convert" and "Coalesce" though... "Convert" simply replaces one with the other, while "Coalesce" factors the two against each other (like Coalesce trim).
__________________
--Will Files

Last edited by sounddroid; 11-01-2011 at 10:53 AM. Reason: clarity
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-01-2011, 10:14 AM
BlueDog BlueDog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland OR USA
Posts: 73
Default Re: Converting Volume Automation to Clip Gain = Higher Volume!

Any plug ins on the track? I guess it's changing from post-insert gain to pre-insert gain. Just a thought.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-01-2011, 11:12 AM
blairl blairl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Posts: 1,084
Default Re: Converting Volume Automation to Clip Gain = Higher Volume!

Quote:
Originally Posted by brickroadstudio View Post
So what is the difference between using volume automation vs the new clip gain?
Both clip gain static volume and clip gain automation stay with the clip, no matter where it is moved on the timeline, and regardless of the shuffle, slip, spot, grid situation where certain edits on the timeline will cause volume automation to slip out of time with the clip. Clip gain is also pre-insert, so some plug-ins will react differently to volume adjustments done with clip gain.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clip gain or Volume Automation for S's on Vicals SpinningDisk Tips & Tricks 12 12-20-2013 06:52 AM
What's the difference between clip gain and volume automation on audio? rockguitarist1255 Pro Tools 10 7 12-27-2012 07:20 PM
Clip Gain and volume autiomation bonzerboy Pro Tools 10 3 05-07-2012 11:52 AM
Bug? Coalescing Clip Gain to Track Volume makes Fades pumping. jojohamps Pro Tools 10 0 04-05-2012 08:15 AM
Clip-gain post-EQ but pre-volume-graph? Frank Kruse Post - Surround - Video 11 11-29-2011 10:18 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com