Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-15-2008, 07:14 AM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,387
Default multiple firewire interfaces on same computer.

I'm sure this won't work with M-powered pro tools, but is it possible to use more than one firewire interface on the same computer with other DAW apps? I'm curious if ?I can use my profire lightbridge with a tascam fireone on the same computer - an imac 2.16 C2D with OS 10.4.9 that runs Logic Pro 8.
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-18-2008, 03:14 AM
clausiii's Avatar
clausiii clausiii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 1,801
Default Re: multiple firewire interfaces on same computer.

it depends on the driver. There are some interfaces, that will work that way, but they must be the same interfaces. Í think that f.e. Edirol has a FW interface, with which you can connect another one to double your I/O´s.
But what I´m sure about is that sequencers can´t have access to different interfaces. Sequencers communicate through the driver with the interface and can only handle one driver for one interface, except the driver is written to have multible instances of an interface...
__________________
My ears! My ears!
clausiii
-----------------
MacBook Pro i7 Quad 2.6GHz 16GB RAM
ProTools 2019.5
Digidesign Command|8
macOS Mojave
MOTU 4pre
MOTU Track16
Axiom Pro 25
LinnStrument 128
Roli Seaboard Block

tons of stomp boxes
tube amps
guitars
noise
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-18-2008, 05:06 PM
GS-DK GS-DK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 521
Default Re: multiple firewire interfaces on same computer.

I use a M-audio 410 for ProTools M-powered and a Fireface 400 for Logic. No problem - Fireface sounds far the best.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-19-2008, 01:29 AM
clausiii's Avatar
clausiii clausiii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 1,801
Default Re: multiple firewire interfaces on same computer.

sorry there was a misunderstanding here!

of course you can install dozens of interfaces. An you can use them all! But (in most cases) only one for each application!
__________________
My ears! My ears!
clausiii
-----------------
MacBook Pro i7 Quad 2.6GHz 16GB RAM
ProTools 2019.5
Digidesign Command|8
macOS Mojave
MOTU 4pre
MOTU Track16
Axiom Pro 25
LinnStrument 128
Roli Seaboard Block

tons of stomp boxes
tube amps
guitars
noise
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-19-2008, 03:54 AM
chris110000100101001 chris110000100101001 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 485
Default Re: multiple firewire interfaces on same computer.

Any sequencer that uses Core Audio can use an Aggregate Audio Device
__________________
SMPTE for the devil
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple FireWire interfaces PT 9 OSX. FIRESTUDIO AND SAPPHIRE 40 Invisible Pro Tools 9 2 08-16-2011 10:13 AM
Multiple interfaces to PT9 towelhead macOS 3 05-26-2011 10:18 AM
multiple firewire interfaces in PT9LE mzkguy Tips & Tricks 1 04-05-2011 02:22 PM
multiple M-Audio (and DigiDesign) interfaces on the same computer marcnyc Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 5 09-02-2008 07:50 PM
Multiple Interfaces? obligato Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 02-07-2007 08:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com